The Notebook versus The Computer

6854811539_faf8399002

The Notebook versus The Computer

Ever since i got my first laptop about 13 years ago, I have written on one. It’s been the easiest and most economical way of writing for me. And it’s still how I’ve written my most recent flash fiction.

Before my first laptop (which has now sadly died), I wrote in notebooks. It was tedious in some respects, and there was only ever one copy in existence. If I lost it, I lost it. That worried me. There was no cloud, no USB drive, no hard drive. Nothing on which to back up the world that I was creating.

Yet, typing, entering my words through plastic keys and seeing them appear on a screen, detaches me a little from my world. There seems to be a barrier between me and what I am writing, between me and the characters I am giving life to. Something of the magic is lost.

A few weeks ago, I started writing in notebooks again. I am writing the second draft of my novel, Elondria, by hand. Losing the parts (and there are a lot of them) that aren’t necessary, and translating the parts I am keeping into first person. It’s a method that’s bringing me closer to my characters, and therefore my story.

It’s perhaps slower, and I have to buy notebooks (though, let’s face it, I probably would anyway), but I feel it’s worth it to dive deeper into a story and world that I love.

How about you? What’s your preference? What’s your opinion?

 

10 thoughts on “The Notebook versus The Computer

  1. I’ve thought about this many times and have seen it posted. It’s a common conundrum for writers, I think. There are pros and cons to both. A good mix is nice. πŸ™‚ (Especially for me since I’m older and didn’t grow up with a computer.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

