Writing Update (#22)

The past two weeks have been a rollercoaster again, and unfortunately I didn’t get my writing up date posted last week. So once again, this post will cover the past two weeks.

I suppose the biggest thing I have to report is that Elondria has gone wrong, yet again. I was trying to write it, and finding myself wanting to avoid it. I was bored. I then spent the last half of this week trying to decide what to do. I went back and looked through what I’d written so far, and came to the conclusion that the first 3 scenes were fine, but after that it went down hill. I was writing to the outline, and it didn’t feel connected or like it was making sense.

So I’ve gone back to where it went wrong, and started writing from there. This time I have several plot points, and what I write between them is unknown. I love writing best when it’s an adventure, and now it is again.

The promise I’ve made to myself: if it doesn’t work this time, maybe it isn’t going to. I know that a first draft is often a mess. But if I’m bored writing it, I’m never going to get it finished.

I haven’t made much progress with Into The Unknown, unfortunately. But I do have a goal to read three chapters in the next week, and that one I am going to stick Β to.

I wrote a blogbattle story for last week, although it was posted a few days late. This week’s hasn’t quite happened yet, but I’m working on it. Strange how an unusual word like deterge (last week’s word) was easier to write a story for, than a common one like coconut (this week’s word).

So for this week I will leave you with this:

Remember, all the answers you need are inside of you; you only have to become quiet enough to hear them.

~ Debbie Ford

12 thoughts on “Writing Update (#22)

  1. Yeah, I still haven’t written Coconut yet! I hope the rollercoaster takes a break soon, Phoenix. I’m glad you decided to go back and make writing Alondria an adventure! I am a plot pointer with hidden space between sort of person too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s tough when a story you’re working on becomes difficult and boring to write. I’ve run into that several times, and it always makes me rethink what I’m writing and backtrack to where things went wrong. I think you went about it the right way, going back and finding where the story’s plot needed changing. I always need an outline for my stories, but it’s a difficult thing because if I know too much of the story already the mystery and fun of writing will be gone. It’s a difficult balance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a difficult balance. I think I’m still finding mine. I’m glad you think I did the right thing. I’m a bit afraid of just constantly going back and changing it when it gets difficult. I suppose it’s a matter of learning to trust your instincts. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It takes a lot of practice to figure out your writing process, and to find what will or will not work for each story you write. Learning to trust your instincts is a part of that too, I think.

        Like

Leave a Reply

