#Writing Update (#21)

It’s been two weeks since I last wrote one of these updates. I was to busy last Sunday to fit it in. Life, again.

Since my last post I’ve been working on Elondria, aiming to do 1000 words a day. It’s happened about half the time, to be honest. But on some of the days when I did write, I got over 2000 words down, so it’s balanced out.

I’m making notes as I go on what I want to do in the next draft, as I’m not happy with the way the first draft is going. I don’t want to start all over again, because that’s a cycle that no writer needs to get into.

I think making the notes is helping to motivate me to keep going, because I can see how I can make it better, without actually getting stuck in trying to make it perfect as I go along.

I’m still rereading Into The Unknown, taking notes as I go. I’m enjoying seeing what I can change, and thinking how I can rewrite certain bits to make them better.

I’ve written my #blogbattle story for this week, and I wrote a last-minute poem for last week’s. This week’s needs editing and proofing, and I’m hoping to get time to do that on Tuesday before posting it. Tuesdays have got quite busy just recently, so I’m having to think of different ways to schedule things.

I’ve also started a new story, which I was not supposed to be doing. But I’m thinking of putting something up on Wattpad, to expand my writing horizons. I had an idea for it late last week, but it doesn’t have a title yet, and I’m still working out the beginning.

I’m hoping to write it as I go along. I’m finding that that’s when I love writing the best – when I’m letting the words and story flow from my heart, not following an outline or road-map of any kind.

With that in mind, I’ll leave you with this quote:

The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.

~ Helen Keller

10 thoughts on “#Writing Update (#21)

  1. Even though life is getting in the way, sounds as though you’re getting lots of great writing done! I’ve not tried Wattpad, though I know people who have who’ve done well – hope it goes well for you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think finding the positives helps in staying sane πŸ™‚ I’m glad you find this encouraging, as I always find your work inspiring. I can’t wait to be where you are with two books out already.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. Life may be going on in the background, but you’ve still gotten a lot of writing done. Be proud of yourself. πŸ™‚

    Note-taking can be such a life-saver. I’ve been doing that with TKC, too. Though now that I’m looking ahead to beta-readers after this current draft, I can’t save the notes for the next draft anymore, so I’ve been incorporating them as soon as possible. Luckily they’ve been only small changes so far…

    Keep up the good work! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am pleased with what I’ve gotten done, but somehow it never seems enough. But I think writing it out in a post like this one helps to see it all with a bit of distance.
      Good luck with TKC, and beta-readers. I’m sure your hard work will be rewarded in the end. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

