#Blogbattle : An Ending?

This week’s #blogbattle theme word is derelict. #Blogbattle is a weekly event hosted by the wonderful Racheal Ritchey over at the new #Blogbattle site. Take a look at her website and books as well. It’s worth it.

Genre: Fantasy

An Ending?

Winter’s stomach felt fluttery, like little wings were beating inside of it. Her own wings were beating hard, keeping her hovering above the grass. She was clutching the vial of powder in her hands, about to summon the Queen.

Her friends were hidden. Some were in the bush behind her, others in the mouth of a small tunnel they’d found running underground, and others in a derelict human house off to her left. They’d found it by flying a little further down the road.

The plan was set. All she had to do was put it into motion.

Her hands shook as she opened the top of the vial, pulling the little stopper out of the top. She closed her eyes and thought of Birch. She wanted him back. So she tipped the powder up, and used every inch of willpower she could summon. All the power of her mind that she’d once used to control the ice, she put now into bringing the Queen to her.

Green powder tipped out into the air, falling slowly to the ground. It seemed to sparkle on its way down, catching the sunlight.

The moment it was all gone, Winter turned and flew as fast as she could back to the bush. Underneath, and breathing heavily, she hid with Spring, two of the birds behind them.

All she did was blink, and then a white vapour appeared on the spot where the powder had fallen. A scream grew in intensity, and then a fairy form appeared. The Queen.

Winter gulped. But she didn’t have time to be afraid.

She shot back out from underneath the bush, and summoned all the ice power she could. She aimed it at the Queen, who brought her own hands up. Something dark and painful hit Winter’s shoulder, knocking her off course. But the hail and snow flew from her fingers anyway, hitting the Queen square in the chest.

Winter fell to the ground, numbness spreading over her body.

The Queen screamed again as ice spread over her, freezing her body in position. Spring flew out over Winter and dove to the ground. The Queen was struggling against her ice case, cracks appearing along her arms.

Spring’s hands touched the ground, and it started to shake. Winter tried to get up, away from the painful vibrations. But her wings wouldn’t work, neither would her arms and legs. She was afraid.

Brown stalks shot up from the ground, turning into trees faster than was natural. Flowers bloomed as well, but they weren’t as much use.

The Queen was still struggling. One arm broke free, shards of ice flying everywhere.

Spring looked up afraid.

Summer and Autumn flew out from the tunnel, moving parallel to each other. Summer started to raise the temperature, and the speed of the trees growth picked up. But the Queen was determined, she pointed to Spring, and he flew from her with force, landing beside Winter. He could move though. He got up and held his arms up, directing the trees upwards.

Autumn had to get in close, so Spring tried to block the Queen’s arms with branches from the trees.

The moment Autumn could, he touched the trees and made their leaves turn brown and fall. Then Summer raised the temperature again and the trees sprang back to life, growing ever faster.

The Queen screamed and hammered against her prison. The ice had melted under the intensity of Summer’s heat. But the Queen was trapped, roots wound around her, and in the end, two new trees stood strong and proud, twinned, bound together trapping the Queen.

Winter smiled as her eyes closed. She had no energy to keep them open anymore. But the job was done. The Queen was gone. Birch and Indian would be free.

Voices penetrated the darkness she was in. Concern laced the words. But she couldn’t tell what they were saying. Then there were hands on her, and she had the sense that she was moving.

Then she let go, or life let go of her, she couldn’t quite work out which.

***

“Winter,” a gentle voice said, “Winter, can you hear me?”

She knew that voice, and liked it. It had said nice things to her in the past. She struggled her eyes open, and faint light penetrated the darkness. A face hovered above her. The face that belonged to the voice.

“Birch!” she said, and it was like the veil of darkness fell away from her. She sat up and put her arms around him. His went around her, and it was like the world was back how it should be. “You’re okay.”

“You are too,” he said into her neck. “I was so worried, Winter.”

“Me too,” she said, then realised she was crying, her tears wetting his top.

He held her even more tightly. “Let’s never be apart again?”

“Deal.”

***

She sat on the tree with him, watching the sun go down. “So,” she said, “what now?”

“Well, I suppose you and Spring and Autumn and Summer have quite a responsibility on you now.”

“We do, but, where do you want to go? I know you wanted adventure…”

“I did. And then I got a kind I don’t like. I think,” he took her hand, holding it tight, “I think maybe I just want to go home. If that’s what you want, anyway.” The last sentence was added quickly.

Her heart felt like it was going to explode with joy. “It is what I want. I didn’t know until right now, but I miss my parents, and I miss Layla , and Nutkin, and my other friends.”

He smiled, and it was full of hope for the future. “Then let’s go home.”

She couldn’t help it. She leaned over and kissed him, and felt like there would never be another moment as perfect as that one.


Well, that’s it, folks. Finally the end of Winter’s story. Well, this chapter of her story anyway. 🙂 She’s going to have a rest now. I think she’s deserved it. But I will continue taking part in #Blogbattle in an attempt to write some stand-alone stories. 

I welcome any feedback on this ending. I don’t write endings very often, so if you have any comments, please feel free to share. 🙂

28 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : An Ending?

  1. You’ve done a beautiful job especially with your faithfulness in taking this story to the end without deviating from it. Well done! And you gave a satisfying ending with all the ‘feels.’ 😀 Great job my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s amazing how the words have added up.
        No, not the first.. My first was back in 2013 (the one I’m actually editing now). I’ve just not managed to get beyond a first draft before. Currently working on that one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well be encouraged my friend. The struggle will only make you stronger. I mean I still haven’t FINISHED Ascension Graveyard and that has been an emotional rollercoaster but I know we both will be successful as long as we stick with it. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow… That’s all I can really say after the ending you gave this beautiful story.

    It is very satisfying because everything turned out so beautifully. Great job, Phoenix. I love the way the last dialogues went. Very touching and I’m sure if this was a book, I’d be giving it a raving review right about now. As a book reviewer, I’ll give it 5/5.
    And if you don’t mind I can even write a small review and mail it to you 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, thank you. You really know how to make me smile. 🙂 I’m glad you liked the ending. It’s one of only a few I’ve managed to get to write. I’m thinking of turning it into a book, though I’m not sure how at the moment.
      A small review would be lovely, thank you 🙂
      And you’re the first person to do that for me. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad I’m the first one. I already wrote half of the review, but I still need to read a few parts to get a better hang of the story. 🙂
        I loved this ending, hope you’ll keep this one only 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I look forward to reading the review. 🙂 Exciting. 😀
        Which reminds me, I really need to update Winter’s page now that it’s finished.
        It will always have a happy ending, I think, no matter what. (I’m a sucker for them.)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And that’s a good news. I also love happy endings (well, except when I’m reading Mr. King’s books.)
        And please do, it’ll be easier for me to read all the parts that I’ve missed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness, Phoenix! I’m so teary-eyed to think this is the end of Winter’s beautiful tale. I have loved every bit of it. ❤ She's had a good run, but I also can't wait to read what else you have for us! ❤ 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

