#Writing Update (#18)

This week has been relatively stable. I feel a bit like I’m in the eye of the storm, just waiting for things to kick off again. So I’m taking advantage of it.

Elondria. Elondria has caused me a few problems this week. I was about 13k into the first draft on Friday, and I sat and stared at the screen, and admitted to myself that it wasn’t working.

I was struggling to get the words down, struggling to find the motivation to even open the file. So I sat and thought about it, and realised that it felt rushed. I was just writing to what it says on the index cards in Scrivener, to the plot points and scenes that I’d written down. The heart was missing.

So I restarted it. I know this can be a dangerous thing to do. How many times could you restart until it feels “right”? Many, if you let yourself.

But I think I did the right thing this time. It feels good now. I’ve been excited to write it, motivated to start writing, which is always a good sign. I’m now 5k in, and I might write some more later today if I have the time.

I’ve also decided to start revising my first NaNo novel, Into The Unknown. It’s been sat languishing since I last looked at it in 2014, and I feel like I need to be in a cycle of writing and editing, so that I’m always working on something, even when a project is “resting”. I’ve made a start to rereading and getting to know the story again, as it’s been so long. Β But it will always come second to Elondria. That’s my main project.

Today I wrote the next instalment in Winter’s story for Tuesday’s #blogbattle, so that should go up as normal.

That’s it for this week, I think. So I will leave you with these words:

Ego says, “Once everything falls into place, I’ll feel peace.” Spirit says, “Find your peace, and then everything will fall into place.”

~Marianne Williamson

21 thoughts on “#Writing Update (#18)

  1. I definitely agree with the Spirit, β€œFind your peace, and then everything will fall into place.”
    And I guess this is what’s happening with your project. I’m sure that now that you’re feeling that you did the right thing, everything will into place automatically. I can understand how it feels. The only reason why it took me so long to write Sinister Town’s first draft was because all the while it didn’t feel right. Instincts are always the most reliable source to listen to. I always do. Always!
    And Into The Unknown sounds great! I hope you’ll have a great time revising it. I bet you might be feeling a little nostalgic while re-reading it after so long. i miss that feeling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m learning that I should always listen to my instincts. As you say, they’re usually right.
      I am enjoying Into The Unknown. It’s amazing what I’v forgotten about the story. I have a pretty good memory so forgetting them is hard, so it is a nice change. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, that’s impressive! There were things that I forgot about Deceived that I came across while developmental editing… and it totally made me think, “Wow, did I write that!” Lol.
        If I’m away from my book for 2-3 months, I tend to forget my own quotes. Heheh.
        I guess I need to start eating Almonds… πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yep. I remember my mother stuffing my mouth with fist-fulls of almonds during exams… Lol. Once (in my life once) I got second division, so she made me eat almonds every day for the entire year till I scored first division again. (That’s why I don’t eat almonds anymore. She totally ruined them for me.)
        And yeah… that explains your sharp memory. My mother would hug you if she’ll read this comment. She has a weird thing for Almonds and children (as in for her) eating almonds… lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I suppose she only wanted the best for you, but I think maybe the almonds could only help so far? I assume first division is like the top class? For the most smart pupils?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah…
        And as far as I know almonds can really make a difference. Still, I hate them 😦
        And yeah, first class is like the top class. But my mother was not happy with that too because I usually got 7th or 8th rank which was never listed on the class blackboard. They only wrote the top 5 names on it, so she was always upset with my grades.
        Guess I was lucky to have her…
        She had an extra marital affair that time, still, my grades were a bigger issue at our home.
        Sorry for again getting emotional. It’s my mother’s wedding anniversary. Not my parents’, but my mother and step’s and she expects me to be f**king happy about it. I hate her. :X

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m sorry your mum put so much pressure on you. If she was having trouble with her marriage at the time, maybe it was something else to focus on. I think it sounds like you did quite well at school.
        Parents can be a nightmare. I don’t have the best relationship with my mum, so I can relate, even if in a different way.
        If you ever need to have a rant about it, or just talk, feel free to email me.
        *hugs*

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Studying was the only escape I had, so I did good in school until the time I was with my parents. But after their separation, I kind of drifted away from my studies and completely botched it. Still, I got into a decent Engineering college, which later on (as an act of rebellion) I dropped out of. Lol.
        It’s really depressing when such relationships get complicated. I mean everyone is entitled to a loving relationship with their parents. I hate it when the most important relationships get corrupted because of lame reasons.
        And thanks a ton, Phoenix. You’re a really good friend and I’m very lucky to have you. And same goes for you. Please feel free to email me anytime if you ever want to talk about anything. Or maybe we can be accountibility partners for writing. That’ll be cool!
        Hugs. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Life takes some funny turns. I’ve certainly experienced some bumps in the road. I still am. I suppose we get where we’re meant to be in the end, though. At least that’s what I’m hoping.
        I know the sadness of relationships getting more complicated than they need to. It would be nice if we all had the loving parents that we see on TV. But they’re human, I guess, with weaknesses and flaws like us. But yeah, it is depressing.
        Thank you, you’ve been a good friend to me too. Making me smile when I’ve felt like crying. I like the sound of being accountability partners. After the writing day I’ve had today, I think I certainly need it! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I just typed a really long reply, but then cut it and pasted it on a doc. Can you please give me your email address (I’m not sure I have it.) I’ll email it to you because I really want to share it and this is clearly not the place to rant.
        Thanks. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

