Writing Update (#16)

This week has been one of ups and downs.

Up: I finally started writing Elondria. The worldbuilding isn’t complete, but I felt like I needed to start writing to figure out what I needed to know. So I’m having an experiment. Is is better to start writing and then complete the worldbulding, or should you do all of the worldbuilding before you write a word?

I think for me it was turning into a bit of procrastination. It was a way to avoid actually doing the writing. Yes, there are things I needed to know, but I was starting to go into the abstract.

Down: The writing on Elondria has bee patchy due to life implosion. Things have been wobbly in my private life to say the least, and unfortunately this has impacted on my writing. But today I decided to put all those bad emotions into my writing, and managed to write almost 3k words.  Fortunately, my MC is in a bit of  a bad place in the story as well. So that was kind of handy. In a rubbish way.

So far, I am roughly 6.5k in. My daily goal is 1000 words. I’m a fairly quick writer, so I think it’s doable. Most days anyway.

There was no FridayPhrases post yesterday, as, due to the aforementioned life implosion, I didn’t do any FP’s on Friday.

I also have yet to write this week’s #blogbattle Winter story. But I shall. Hopefully. Provided there are no more disasters and I have the time.

Today I will leave you with a phrase that we’ve probably all heard, but it bares to keep it in mind.

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

~Proverbial saying

The way I’ve interpreted this?

When life goes to hell, write. 🙂

PS: Hope you’ve all had a good week.

6 thoughts on “Writing Update (#16)

  1. For last year’s NaNoWriMo (the last time I attempted to write) I tried to do a lot of planning beforehand and it didn’t work out as well as when I just had a basic idea and character names and started writing. So I think I’m more of a “Pantser” writer than a “Plotter”, so I am totally behind starting to write before you have all the world building done.
    I hope this week goes better on the personal front for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes, pantsing is just the only way forward. I’ve had success both ways, and non-success both ways as well.
      Thanks. It could have been worse this week, but it could have been a lot better. I should be blogging about it all later.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Huh. “When life goes to hell, write.” I actually adopted that a few months ago. And now I’m into two major writing projects (plus a few on the back burner). So happy you’re writing but am sorry to hear about the wobbly parts. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Turns out it’s a harder motto to stick with than I initially thought, but I think it’s a good one to try and stick to.
      Glad to hear you’re writing. I hope it’s going well for you.
      Thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

