Writing Update (#13)

This week has seen a lot of progress made, a few bumps in the road, and a lot of stress. But it’s all worked out okay. (So far.)

I started the week writing a story for CampNaNo, and working on Elondria’s structure. I’m ending it working on a different story for CampNaNo, and back worldbulding for Elondria.

So, Elondria. I’ve been working through K.M. Weiland’s Structuring Your Novel Workbook to try and grasp the basic structure I need to be going for. I came to the end of it during the week, and I think things are looking positive. The book is useful, especially for someone like me just really learning about structure.

I now have a basic outline. I’m thinking of it like a skeleton, and now I need to flesh it out, add the bits in-between the main events in the story. I haven’t started doing that yet, partly because I’m trying to figure out how to work. Digitally or physically? There are pros and cons either way. Do any of you have a preference?

So I’m back worldbuilding. Which is good. I’ve finally settled on a definite era the story’s going to be based in, and am enjoying researching the history of that time.

As for CampNaNo, it wasn’t ย working. I was writing a story to work on worldbuilding, but I got so far and found that I don’t know enough to visualise it properly. I was drifting back into the time period I used for the previous version of the story. Which is not what I was going for. So I’ve switched to writing the short story I started weeks ago. It’s set in a smaller section of the world, therefore it’s easier to work with.

No blogbattle story this week, but there should be one next. ๐Ÿ™‚

The following quote is exactly how I’m feeling right now. Like I’m taking the first steps.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

~Lao Tzu

Hope you all have a good week. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Writing Update (#13)

  1. I haven’t read Weiland’s book yet, but it sounds helpful. I’m glad writing has been good god you this week. I prefer writing on the computer, so I won’t have to type it later., so digitally. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Writing on computer is certainly easier. I write on computer, but will insist on working my story out by hand. Typing up notes is what takes up a lot of my time. But I guess it’s how my mind works. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Weilands books are helpful. Not perfect, as nothing is, but I’ve learned quite a lot from them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know of many writers who need to write their stories out by hand first. I think it’s a helpful method and less distracting. Sometimes a computer can be distracting. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad to know your project is coming along great. A few bumps are necessary otherwise, we’ll start taking it for granted, isn’t it?
    All the best for Camp NaNo. I’m doing it too, but only 35K words as I’m almost done with my first draft.
    This book sounds helpful. Have you read any others by her? So many writers love her books. I’ll be reading them as soon as I’ll get some time. If you know which one should I read first then please let me know.
    And I love this quote. So motivating โค
    Have a great Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Only 35k? My project is only 10k. ๐Ÿ˜€ Yours is a lot by my standards. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I have read a few by Weiland. I like her method of working, though it’s not perfect. There’s a book to read, and an accompanying workbook, one for outlining and one for structuring. I started with the outlining one, but I’m not sure which way’s best to be honest.
      If there weren’t any bumps, I don’t suppose it would feel so good in the end when we get it right. But boy some of those bumps are big. Sigh.
      Have a great Sunday too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

