Writing Update (#12)

Again, sorry about my absence last week. Unplanned events happened.

But, I’m here again, and the really good news is that I’m back writing!

The busyness has subsided while September, and I have two months of freedom to write (well, aside from the normal life tasks, anyway).

Over these last two weeks:

I have started making some real progress on Elondria. I am working out the structure of the story, which feels a bit like finding its path. I have several things I know are going to happen in it, things from the awful first draft, I just need to work out where they belong. And slowly, I’m getting there. Which feels really good.

I am also doing CampNaNo this month. I’m writing a kind of non-traditional story. It’s a character exploring my world, which is really helping with the worldbuilding. I am starting to see and feel the world, which is exactly what I want. It has changed quite radically from the first time around, and is a bit out of the box for a fantasy, but I like it, and I’m finding it fun to explore it this way.

I have also written my #blogbattle entry today, to post on Tuesday. As usual I’ll do some final cleaning up over the next couple of days. But the bulk of the work’s done.

I also wrote a Beautiful People post for Ana this week and posted it on the blog. It helped my dive a bit further into her childhood, which is helpful. (Ana is the protagonist in Elondria, in case anyone doesn’t know.)

I think that’s it for now. Provided no disasters happen, I should be here again next week with hopefully lots of writing progress to report.

Until then, enjoy this quote:

Be brave, be brave, be brave. Without bravery, you will never know the world as it longs to be known. Without bravery, your life will remain small—far smaller than you probably wanted your life to be.

~Elizabeth Gilbert

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Update (#12)

Leave a Reply

