Writing Update (#10)

This week has been another one short on time. I have squeezed some time in for my WIP – Elondria  – every day, but not much unfortunately. I’m almost done typing up my notes, and the next bit will be setting out the story structure. 🙂

I’m excited for that bit. And also a little scared. I don’t usually do that, but the whole reason I’m having to do this rewrite is because I dove in head-first and made a mess of the it. And, of course, I’ve learned a lot since writing it, so I understand what’s good and what’s not a bit better.

I’ve written my #blogbattle story for Tuesday, and it’s almost ready to go. It just needs a quick proofread and it’s done. 🙂

I still intend doing another short story series using the Describli prompts, but time isn’t on my side at the moment. I’m hoping that towards the end of June is going to be a bit quieter, so hopefully it will be then.

I’ve also got a short story set in Elondria’s world all planned out. Another one just waiting for the time. Which I will find! I am determined.

I think that’s it for this week, so I will leave you with these words of wisdom:

You keep putting one foot in front of the other, and then one day you look back and you’ve climbed a mountain.

~Tom Hiddleston

40 thoughts on “Writing Update (#10)

  1. Next week….as in Tuesday coming….blog…battle….I’ve been unmindful and entirely forgot about that 😱

    Thank you for your words on pondering the writings….I think I’ve been neglecting mine of late…I need to increase productivity. Maybe I should try as you suggest…short story serialisations for practice.

    Good words here my blogging friend…thank you for reminding me about writing 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

      1. There is, but methinks this time I’ll have to pass…too much going on…I rather think I need prompting about the prompts..🤔

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I refer to time being relative a lot in my kindness posts….but a slower rotation would definitely help…or a time machine….it that twirly thing Hermione used in Harry Potter to be at two lessons at the same time 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I often watch the films…more so the later ones as they are much darker…but just think…a time machine…where would you go first 😇

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ooh, where first? I think I’d go back, and put right a couple of things, then who knows? I’d kind of like to see some of the events in the past, but also what’s going to happen in the future… So many options! Where would you go first?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. good question 🤔 Maybe Woodstock, then 1987 to change a crap decision, then…nah…can’t do the lets find next weeks lottery numbers dip into the future ruse lol. Too far in the future might be scary too judging by the way things are going 😱

        Liked by 1 person

      6. That’s a fair point…knowing in advance would be a good way to make sure you make the right decisions now…hadn’t thought of that one 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

      7. It’s an interesting concept really…the possibility changing something coukd change everything from that point forwards…would it be better or worse…does my head in thinking about that 👻

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Very true… I mean, if you went back to change something, would changing it mean you wouldn’t exist in the future to go back and change it? Very paradoxical that is 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      9. That’s a head-scratcher. Then there’s the butterfly effect. If you change one thing, what else would you change? Would you change something that you wouldn’t want changed? You would have to be very careful, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Safest bet is just to look at lotto numbers next week and pop back then 🤔 Although you’d be in the future timeline when you looked and could be dead happy that week and about to make a life changing decision that coming back and winning zillions would change forever….still, not having actually lived that week yet…the risk might be worth it 👻

        Liked by 1 person

      11. It’s bad enough dealing with time as it is never mind ducking backwards and forwards through it 🤕

        Obviously lotto would be just to see if it worked…not to actually enter them yes 😜

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Excellent….now if you would just let me know the numbers…you know…for provenance purposes only…to validate your future visit and all that….

        Liked by 1 person

      13. I suppose statistically speaking you should really pop round the world collecting several lotto systems numbers and maybe a few key events with long odds….the sports almanac in Back to the Future type of thing…just to make sure the trip is useful and not, of course, we we can but several mansions 😇

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Absolutely not….that would be a tragedy indeed. Not to mention a terrible waste of potential evidencing if we had, in fact, actually gone into the future 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Blog Battle! Thanks for the reminder 🙂 And good luck with the rewrite – as writers we have to be strong enough to trash things and start again if they’re not working, so well done you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad I reminded you! It’s always nice to read your entries. 🙂
      Yeah, doing the rewrite was a hard decision, but the story wasn’t right, and there was too much to correct for normal edits, and I didn’t want to give up on the story. So I made the decision. Thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’ll end up with the right story once you’re done, I’m quite sure 🙂
        And thanks – I’m just working on the last bit of my story, but it’s a tad over 1500 words so I’m not sure whether to enter or not. Looking forward to seeing your entry 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m a couple hundred words over, but I can’t cut the story any shorter – it’s just how it came out! So I might publish it and put the link in Rachael’s comments, then she can decide 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a nice way of looking at it. The view ahead is changing as we move forward. I think it does with every choice and decision we make. Sometimes more than others, of course. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

