Writing Update (#8)

This week has been slow. Very slow. Or at least it’s felt it.

Today, I’ve written the next part in my Winter series, and the #blogbattle entry for this week. I’m really seeing where this story’s going, and going to end now. And it’s exciting. πŸ™‚

I’m still typing up the notes I’ve Β been making by hand on Elondria’s worldbuilding and character information. I’m about halfway through that. I haven’t had as much time as I’d have liked, but I am grateful for the bit I have had.

I’ve got an idea to get to know my Elondrian world a little better rattling around in my head at the moment. I’m thinking of writing some pieces of flash fiction, and maybe a few short stories set in the world, before I start writing my main story. I feel like it’s an abstract concept at the moment, something I don’t feel part of even though I’ve decided so much about it. So maybe a few short pieces will help? I don’t know.

I’m also thinking of doing a short series again, like Hunter the other year, using Describli prompts. I’m aching for something to write, and when I do have to write something (like Winter) I’m finding it hard to sit down and actually do it. So I thought getting back into the routine of writing everyday, and not just worldbuilding, even if it’s just a few hundred words, will keep the old writing muscles trim. πŸ™‚

I’ll leave you with this:

I owe everything I am and everything I will ever be to books.

~ Gary Paulsen

I hope you’ve all had a good weekend. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Writing Update (#8)

  1. I love the quote! I also think you are on to something good with just writing to keep yourself ‘trim.’ Sticking to one story with dedication is an excellent thing but it can become like ticking a box. You’ve done such a great job with Winter’s tale. I admit Ive fallen behind but look forward to finding out how the tale wraps up. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. πŸ™‚ Winter has been hard work, but fun. I’m glad you agree about writing everyday. I think it really does help to make the process easier, it becomes a part of the routine. And that can only be a good thing. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s when our ‘hobby’ transforms into a ‘career’ when we take that step to do it with structure and discipline. That in itself can be a difficult transition but it is so worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Winter’s story is ending!!! OMG! I wasn’t ready for that… but I guess it’ll be for good, everything has to end, isn’t it. I’m looking forward to it!
    And I like your idea of getting familiar with the world by writing abstract short pieces. Sounds useful.
    Looking forward to your next short story series. Your stories are simply mind blowing and outrageously entertaining. πŸ™‚

    And thanks for sharing such a beautiful quote! I love it and can relate to it on so many levels!!!
    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everything does have to end unfortunately. Winter’s been a good companion, but I think she’s getting a bit tired of everything I keep asking her to do. πŸ™‚
      Thank you. πŸ™‚ I hope I live up to your expectations.
      My weekend’s been okay. I hope yours has been good too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure you will (in fact, you’ll do more than that!) I’m already a fan of your writing and trust me I’ll enjoy whatever you’ll write πŸ™‚
        My weekend was great but my week start just got spoilt… I had an anxiety attack yesterday night 😦 One argument with my step-father and 2 years of meditation and positivity went down the drain… Sorry to vent. I really need a break I think…

        Have a great day πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

