Writing Update (#3)

This week  has passed quickly. I’ve gotten quite a bit done, and kept up to date with everything, I think. 🙂

I’m still doing the worldbuilding and filling in plotholes in Elondria. It’s steady work, and I’m making progress. I am really looking forward to getting back into writing in that world. At the moment it’s looking like the first draft is going to have to be rewritten. There’s some stuff I can use, but the story’s changed so much over the years that the beginning doesn’t even really fit the end. So, yeah, I think a rewrite is in order. Which I’m actually quite excited to get started on. 🙂

Search For The Truth, my CampNaNo project, is also coming along nicely. It’s shaping up to be about 30,000 words, which was what I was aiming for. In the middle of the week, I did have to stop and do some brainstorming to get me past a plot point that hadn’t really been full thought out. I’m not sure about what I came up with, but it got me through the middle, so I’m happy for now.

Also, I got my #blogbattle story written today. Two weeks of not leaving it until the last minute! 😀

One thing I am debating with myself right now is whether plotting or pantsing is the best route for me. The two first drafts that I’ve completed by pantsing are my two favourite stories. They came out at a good length, and the characters have really stayed with me. The past two that I’ve outlined I’ve struggled with. And that includes Search For The Truth. Whereas the writing is going okay, I’m struggling to connect with the story and the characters.

The one exception to this rule being a NaNo project from a couple of years ago. I planned it, and it went well. It still came out short though.

So, I don’t know. I suppose it’s something that I’ll figure out as I keep writing.

How about you? Plotter or pantser or somewhere in between?

Live quietly in the moment and see the beauty of all before you. The future will take care of itself.

~Paramahansa Yogananda

(The philosophy I’m trying to live by right now.)

8 thoughts on “Writing Update (#3)

    1. At least you know what you are! I’m dancing between the two. I think pantsing is a more spontaneous sort of creativity. Maybe produces a different type of story to a plotted one? I don’t think one way is better than the other though, just right for different people.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard that from a few people. Their outline is like a skeleton. I think I’m too rigid when I plan. I then find it difficult to go wherever my imagination wants to take me.
      Thanks. It is a good quote. A good grounder, I think. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

