Writing Update (#1)

This is my regular Sunday writing update. Or it will be as this is the first. πŸ™‚ I’m sort of feeling my way as I go with this, so the format and amount of information may change as I go along.

As mentioned last week I have two WIP’s on the go:

  • Elondria
  • Search For The Truth

This week I’ve been working on filling in the plot-holes and changing things that don’t work in Elondria. It is a large project that requires a lot of worldbuilding (that I probably should have done before the first draft), and a lot of changes to make it work. So when I’ve done all this I think it will be more of a rewrite than second draft. Or something in between the two. If such a thing exists.

As for Search For The Truth, I finished outlining just in time for CampNaNo to start on Friday. I started writing on Friday and, as of writing this post, I have written 2430 words. Still a few to go to meet today’s goal of 1000 words, but I’ve got time yet. My goal for the month is 30,000 words. Doable, I think. I don’t know whether this will be the whole story or not. I have a habit of stories coming out short when I’ve outlined them, so we’ll see how this one goes.

Well, I think that’s it for what I’ve done this week. I’ve made quite a bit of progress with both stories, so I’m happy.

This week’s quote is one I found on Pinterest. I’ve been clearing my boards up over there (still a work in progress) and dropped across this:

You only fail if you stop writing.

~Ray Bradbury

On that note, back to writing. πŸ˜€

Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend and the writers among you are getting those words out. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Writing Update (#1)

  1. That Ray Bradbury quote is so true. Writers can’t quit. If we believe in our stories and our craft, we have to keep doing what we can to give them the life they deserve.

    And yeah, world-building requires a lot more time and thought than we might think it will. And it’s a never-ending process, IMO. I actually spent a couple hours last Sunday freewriting on a world-building aspect of TKC that needed some strengthening. Good thing I did that now, because I can incorporate those details into Draft #3.

    Good job with Camp NaNo so far! Keep up the good work. πŸ˜‰ Nice choice of new blog theme too, btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. πŸ™‚ It’s nice to know that you’re still working on world-building even on draft 3 – I didn’t realise that the process could go on that long. I’ve always felt that I should have it “perfect” before I even start draft 1. That’s why it’s taken me a while to come back to Elondria. I struggled with the idea that the world was such a mess.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, most of the world-building that’s needed for TKC is set at this point. (I think? :S ) But one thing I hadn’t spent much time on was understanding what the Council of Selanaan (which my MC is a member of) did in the months and few years leading up to Chapter 1. I also was curious who else had been a part of the Council in the past, too. So I spent a few hours researching examples of diplomacy, drafting a timeline of past Council activities since right before Eva’s election, and going back at least 50 years to figure out past Councilors. A little involved, but I’m really glad now that I finally took care of it.

        I think you’ll find that even as you write and revise your story, you’ll still discover new aspects of its world. So don’t be discouraged. Instead, take it in stride, and with a sense of wonder. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, that is deatailed! That’s the kind of world-building I want to achieve. It just seems like a large pile of work that I’ll never get through. It’s intimidating.
        Thank you for the advice and encouragement. I will try to look at it as an adventure, a journey of discovery. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

