#Blogbattle : Multi-coloured

This week’s #blogbattle theme word is feather. #Blogbattle is a weekly event hosted by the wonderful Racheal Ritchey over at her blog/website. Visit and take a look. It’s worth it. 🙂

Genre: Fantasy

Multi-coloured

The others stared at her, their expressions an array of disbelief and scepticism.

“That’s quite a thought,” Birch finally muttered into the silence.

“I know it’s a bit out there,” Winter said, “but it fits, doesn’t it? With everything that’s happened and everything the Queen said?”

“It does…”

“But?”

“It’s a big thing. If spring isn’t going to come without a fairy’s intervention, then it might never come, and if we’re responsible for that…” Birch shrugged helplessly. “It’s a big thing.”

Winter felt the weight of it press down even further on her shoulders.

“What about my gift?” asked Tango. “Am I going to be responsible for making the rivers flow?”

It was Winter’s turn to shrug helplessly. “I don’t know.”

Flame spoke up with his characteristic certainty. “Well, standing around here in the freezing cold debating it isn’t going to answer anything. Let’s keep looking for the next clan and see what we find. Okay?”

He looked around at them all for agreement, and after a moment, they all nodded their heads. “Right, let’s go then.”

They took off together, back into the clear sky. Winter was shivering, but soon warmed up as she got moving again. They flew past the open field, and over a small walled off area. It looked a bit like a human garden, but there was no house accompanying it. The most striking feature, and the thing that caught Winter’s eye and made her slow down, was that the ground was littered with feathers. They were of all different colours, even some that were pink. She had never seen a pink bird before, and was quite curious to know what one would look like. She said to Birch, “I’m going down there.”

He followed her gaze, and his eyebrows rose. “Well that’s strange – hang on, can you sense that?”

“What?”

“Magic. Not much more than normal, but a bit.”

She concentrated on the ground below, and felt what he must have been feeling. “I can. Let’s land.”

He nodded, and motioned to the others behind them.

Winter’s curiosity only grew as she descended towards the strange collection of feathers. Further down, she could see that they were all different shapes and sizes as well as different colours – greys, whites, pale blues, blacks, and of course those strange pink ones. She landed on the low brick wall, and Birch, then the others, landed beside her. There was definitely a surge of energy down there.

She crouched down and peered at the feathers. “Where do you think they’ve come from?” she asked.

“Who knows,” Birch said. “But it is very strange.”

Someone cleared their throat. Winter stood up looked along the line but everyone shook their head. It wasn’t them.

When she turned back to the garden however, she saw who had. A strange-looking fairy hovered in front of her, arms crossed, his expression a question. “And who exactly are you and what are you doing here?” he asked.

Winter found it hard to answer for a moment. She couldn’t stop staring at his multi-coloured hair. She had never seen a fairy with hair like it before. When she did finally drag her eyes down, she was shocked again to see he had odd-coloured eyes. One blue, one green. “Hi,” she managed.

22 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Multi-coloured

  1. Great to see Winter again! Is there a trace of possible romance I sense there? Or is it just a wild-eyed curiosity? I’m so excited to read what happens next.

    I wrote my first piece for BlogBattle 🙂 I hope I’ll be able to do it every week (fingers crossed!) BTW, I tagged you in that post. Hope it’s fine.
    I’m really excited, but I’m a little nervous about the PG 13 thing. When I first thought of trying BlogBattle I had a concept in mind- revolving around a psychopath, but I guess it’ll be 18+ or at least 16 and above. So, I left it for Describli.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy you enjoy Winter’s tale. 🙂
      It’s fine that you tagged me. I’m looking forward to reading your entry. Jut a warning though, it might take me while Sunday to get round to it, but I will get there. I’m sure it will be fine. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Take you time, dear. I can never complain for late replies. Sometime it takes me weeks to reply myself… lol…
        I hope you’ll like the new pieces I wrote. And, if you find any mistakes or anything plz let me know 😊
        Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So there I was thinking, maybe they are flamingo feathers. But then I started seeing those dyed feathers that come in party bags. There was a lot happening in my imagination and then now I have to wait til next Tuesday 😀 I do enjoy this adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colorful feathers and multi-colored hair, I feel like it’s spring! I love lots of color. 🙂
    What a mystery though, all those feathers… and what does this new fairy have to do with it, I wonder?
    Nice new blog look, btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colorful feathers and multi-colored hair, I feel like it’s spring! I love color. 🙂
    What do the feathers mean, and what does this new fairy have to do with it, I wonder?
    Nice new blog look, btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, now there’s a question. I’ve always maintained that my favourite colour is white. Even though I’ve been told numerous times that white isn’t a colour. It was a running disagreement when I was at school. What’s your favourite colour?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My favorite color has changed so much that I’ve come to the conclusion that “every color” is my favorite color. 😀 Name any and I can find beauty in it. Lately I’ve been feeling more attached to greens, so maybe at the moment I’m liking green most. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

