#Blogbattle : The Fourth

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is indian. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

Rules:

1.1000 words max

2.fictional tale (or true if you really want)

3.PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly!

4.Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related

5.Go for the entertainment value!

6.State the Genre of your story at the top of your post.

7.Post your story on Tuesday, by 11:59 PM PST

8.Use the hashtag #BlogBattle when tweeting your story, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this page, and/or include a link to this page in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)

9.Have fun!

My genre: Fantasy

Here’s my entry for this week:

The Fourth

It was dark beneath the bushes. Winter slowed her flight, becoming very aware of her surroundings. Flame and Birch caught her up. Birch whispered, “Can you feel any magic?”

“A little,” Winter replied. She pointed to her right. “I think there’s more in that direction.”

“Then that’s where we’ll head,” he said.

Winter felt the concentration of magic get stronger. She didn’t normally notice it. It was always in the background, a constant, but because there was such a low amount here, it was more noticeable.

It wasn’t long before they came to something that looked like a ball of thorns. Closer, Winter could tell it was a place where the bare branches of the bush had grown together, becoming tangled and inseparable. Even closer, she saw an opening at one side. She pointed and said, “I think that’s where she lives.”

A moment of silence as Flame and Birch examined it, then Flame said, “Looks like.”

“So what now?” Winter wondered out loud. She didn’t want to frighten the fairy inside, but she didn’t want to give her chance to fly away either. “Maybe I should go up there alone. You two wait on either side, and if she tries to escape, stop her. Only don’t hurt her.” She gave Flame a hard look.

He held his hands up. “I wouldn’t.”

“Good.”

“Okay, that sounds like a plan,” Birch said. “Let’s get moving before she notices us and we miss our chance.”

Winter nodded, then they all moved off in their own directions.

She flew slowly toward the little bundle of twigs, and stopped at the opening. A leaf covered it. Barely kept alive by fairy magic, it was showing its autumn colours.

Winter heard rustling inside, and a small noise that sounded like a gasp. “Please don’t be afraid,” she said. “I only want to talk to you. I’m alone.”

More sounds of movement, then the leaf pulled slightly back and a small set of eyes peered out from the darkness. “Who are you?” The voice was timid, small, and female.

“My name’s Winter,” she said. “Can we talk?”

The fairy hesitated. “I…I don’t know. Maybe. But…but I can cast spells on you. I’m not helpless you know.”

If it was true that she’d cursed the River Clan, then this fairy was most definitely not helpless. “Okay. I promise that I won’t even try and hurt you.”

“Okay then.” The leaf pulled back completely and out stepped a small fairy, slighter and shorter than Winter even – and she wasn’t the largest of fairies. She was dressed in black, and her hair was short and spiked. Her wings were smaller than average as well. When fairies weren’t part of a Clan, there was always a reason why. Winter wondered what hers was. “My name’s Indian.”

“Hello, Indian, it’s nice to meet you.” It was an unusual name.

“So what do you want?”

“I met with the River Clan-” Indian flinched “-no don’t worry. They told me about the curse. I wanted to ask your side of the story.”

Her look of distrust deepened. “Haven’t they told you how evil I am and that it’s all my fault?”

“No. I know what’s poisoned the river. But did you really curse them?”

She looked ashamed at those words and her gaze dropped to the floor. “I did. I know it was wrong. But I couldn’t stand to see the river that way. I thought the River Clan must have done something to it, what other explanation is there?” Her gaze was back up and there was fire in her eyes. Real passion.

Winter said, “Humans. They’ve poisoned the river. You and the River Clan have both blamed each other and made the situation worse.”

She looked crestfallen. “I didn’t mean to. But the curse, it can’t be undone until the river’s back to how it should be.”

Winter bit her bottom lip. “We’re working on that. But I’m sure there’s a way.” She couldn’t suppress her curiosity any longer and asked, “I’m sorry if you don’t want to talk about this, but can I ask why you’re alone out here?”

She lowered her eyes again. “I’m not like other fairies. I can do things they can’t.”

“Like curse things?”

“They call it cursing,” she said, Indignant, “I call it imposing restrictions on things.”

Winter supposed that was another way to look at it. She said, “You’re another gifted one then.”

“Another?”

“Yes. There are four of us now including you.”

“Really?”

“Yes. Really. Would you like to meet my friends? They’re waiting out in the shadows.”

Indian took a small step backwards, so that her back was against her home. “How many?”

“Just two. And they’re both, well, at least one of them’s really nice. The other can be when he wants to be. And I’m sure he will.” She would make sure he was.

“Okay then,” she said in that small timid voice again.

Winter waved out in the direction that she assumed Birch would be, then Flame. They both emerged, and came towards her and Indian. She looked at them sceptically.

Birch said, “Everything okay?”

“Yes,” Winter said. “This is Indian.” As they introduced themselves, a plan started to form in her mind. Four different gifts, and they could all come together to fix this.

 

33 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : The Fourth

    1. Thank you. It wasn’t easy this week. I almost pulled my hair our trying to think of a good way to bring Indian in. This was the best I could do. Next week’s word looks a whole bunch easier though. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

