#Blogbattle : The Bottle and The Fairy

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is bottle. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

Rules:

1.1000 words max

2.fictional tale (or true if you really want)

3.PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly!

4.Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related

5.Go for the entertainment value!

6.State the Genre of your story at the top of your post.

7.Post your story on Tuesday, by 11:59 PM PST

8.Use the hashtag #BlogBattle when tweeting your story, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this page, and/or include a link to this page in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)

9.Have fun!

My genre: Fantasy

Here’s my entry for this week:

The Bottle and The Fairy

Winter’s head hurt. She opened her eyes and stared at the blurry ceiling.

Yep. Her head definitely hurt.

She sat up, and the room spun around her. Not pleasant.

When it was still again, she turned and put her feet on the floor. The room spun again.

She thought back to the previous night. “I didn’t drink that much cheva juice, did I?” she asked herself.

Maybe she had, if her head was anything to go by.

Someone called through the leaf-door. “Winter are you awake?”

She winced at the pain in her head, and replied, “Yes, but please be quiet.”

A chuckle.

She knew that voice.

Flame pulled back the leaf-door and walked in. “You had a good time last night then?”

She thought back. Parts were a bit hazy, but she remembered laughing quite a bit, so she must have had fun. Yes, she definitely remembered fun.

“I did. Thank you. Anyway, what do you want?” She didn’t mean to sound so harsh, but he still made her uncomfortable.

“I came to see if you would like to take a flight with me around the garden? Clear your head with some fresh morning air.”

“Aren’t you worried about the cold?”

“I don’t feel it. Since my gift developed, I stay warm.”

“That’s useful.”

He smiled. “It is sometimes. Though, it means I get all the Gathering jobs as it gets colder.” He didn’t sound too happy.

Winter wasn’t sure she liked his attitude. “Good for your clan, though.”

“I suppose so.” A small pause, and a change in tone. “So what do you think about a flight?”

Winter was unsure. “What about Birch?”

Flame shrugged one shoulder. “I thought we could get to know one another a bit better. I talked to Birch a bit last night.”

“Oh. Right.” What had they talked about? Her? No, surely they’d have better things to talk about. But maybe Flame would tell her if she flew with him.

Besides, she had to get used to his company. He was going with them whether she liked it or not.

“Okay, let’s go,” she said, and stood up. The room didn’t spin, which she was quite pleased about.

Flame led her to the opening in the tree stump and out into the crisp air.

Winter was muffled up again, but she could feel Flame’s body heat from just standing beside him.

They took off into the cold morning. Autumn was starting to pass, and winter was starting to show its bite.

They flew around the perimeter of the garden, following the line of the fence.

“Hey, what’s that?” Flame pointed to something perched on a corner post.

He flew over and landed next to it.

Winter landed beside him.

She recognised it immediately – it was a bottle.

But Flame was puzzled.

Had he really never seen one before?

“What is it?” he asked.

“It’s something humans call a bottle, they use it for storing water, and liquid things like it.”

He cocked his head to the side and looked it up and down. “Strange. What’s it doing here?”

“I don’t know. I suppose maybe someone put it there.” She started to shiver. “I think I’m going to freeze if we stand here much longer.”

Flame looked concerned. “Okay, let’s start moving again.” He moved close to her, lending her some of his body heat for a moment and, as uncomfortable as he made her feel, she was grateful for it.

She felt better when she was in the air and flying and generating her own warmth though.

Flame kept looking back over his shoulder at the bottle.

“You’ve really never seen a bottle before?” she asked, amazed because he lived in a garden attached to a human house.

“No. We keep away from the humans. They’re too dangerous to go near.”

“My human wasn’t dangerous,” she said, feeling sad as she was reminded of Layla. “She was kind, and taught me lots of things.”

“Your human?”

“Yes. When my gift was first discovered, I was too dangerous to live with my clan, so I had to live by myself for a while.” She couldn’t bring herself to say that she had been banished. “And then I met Layla. She’s my friend now. I miss her.”

“Hm,” he shook his head as they landed back on the stump, “I don’t understand how you could be friends with a human. I didn’t think they could even see us.”

“Some can. So you know nothing about the human world?”

“No.” He turned for the opening in the clan’s home.

Winter smiled. He was in for quite a few surprises out there in the world.

 

14 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : The Bottle and The Fairy

  1. I had one eyebrow raised reading about this Flame character, LOL. Glad Winter is being cautious with him. I have missed reading the last couple of weeks, and will have to go back and read them, but I like how I can just pick up on the story each week, it’s amazing you have kept this going through the whole blogbattle!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

