#Blogbattle : Reaching Out

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is reach. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:

1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)
7. Have fun!

As I said I would do in a comment to a reader, I have added an option to the menu above to a page that lists all the Winter #blogbattle story.

My genre: Fantasy

Here’s my entry for this week:

Reach

Layla hummed to herself as she put the dishes away. Dishwashers may wash and dry, but they didn’t do that job.

She hummed a tune that had been playing on the radio over dinner. The radio had been on to distract her from thoughts of Winter, from worrying about what was happening in the Hollow, if she’d been accepted, whether she would come back and visit, when that would be…

Layla closed the cupboard door for the last time, turned away, and then turned back. A cup of tea was in order, then she would see what was on the TV.

The kettle boiled, hissing loudly into the silence. The radio had got annoying, so she’d turned it off.

The little switch on the back clicked off. Layla poured the water into her mug, removed the tea bag, then went to sit down on the sofa.

She switched the TV on and started channel surfing. She was supposed to be writing, but all she could think of was Winter, and that was no help. So she’d seized on it as a good excuse and given herself an evening off.

“Hi,” a little voice said, making her jump.

She looked to the left. Winter was stood on the back of the sofa, hands behind her back, looking as if she had done something and was here to confess.

“Winter! You made me jump! What are you doing here?”

“I thought I would come and see you.”

Layla adjusted her position so she could look at Winter more closely. “Are you okay?”

Winter nodded. “Yes.”

“But?”

The little fairy sat down, and Layla thought she could see tears glisten in her eyes. “I think I’ve made a mistake.”

“What? Why? What’s happened?”

Winter put her hands over her face.

“Come on,” Layla said, her voice soft, trying to tease the information from her friend. “Tell me what’s wrong.”

Winter peeked through her fingers, and mumbled into her hands, “They accepted me back into the Hollow.”

“Okay, well that’s a good thing, isn’t it?”

She nodded.

“So…”

She sighed. “Then Birch told me that he’s leaving, and asked me to go with him.”

“Right, and you agreed?”

She nodded, but still looked miserable through her fingers.

“You wish you hadn’t?”

Another nod.

“Why? And why did you agree in the first place?”

She lowered her fingers and spoke clearly. “Birch told me that things are changing and that my powers can fix it and that the Queen wants us to go and look for other fairies with powers like mine.”

“That must have been a lot to take in?” It was for Layla, so she could imagine how Winter must have felt. “And a big adventure to go on, as well.”

“It is.”

“You don’t want to go?”

“I do… kind of, but I don’t want to leave you behind, and I don’t want to give up the life I have now, but I don’t want to lose Birch, and he’s right that sometimes we have to take risks, but I’m scared and I thought it was a good idea earlier, and now I’m not so sure….”

“You’re having doubts Winter, and that’s natural. It’s okay to be scared of a big change. And don’t worry about us, remember what I told you a while ago when you were worrying about our friendship, that you don’t need to. We will be friends no matter what. Even if we don’t see each other for a while. And you did the right thing in coming to me, in reaching out. That’s the way to help yourself when you’re feeling like this. Reach out to your friends.” She smiled, and hoped it was reassuring.

“I remember,” Winter said. “But I’ll miss you, and I’m not sure I want to miss you. Or Nutkin. Or Cilla.”

“I know. It can be hard. I’ve moved several times, and I miss my old friends. But sometimes life needs that, it changes, but I’m still in contact with some those old friends. Just like you and I will be. You’ll come home, and I’ll be here. Okay?”

Winter looked a little happier. “So, you think I’ve made the right choice?”

“I think if it’s what you want, and you’re not just going along with Birch, then yes, I think you’ve made the right choice. Is it what you want?”

“It is.”

The fact that she said it so quickly and firmly made Layla believe her. “Then good. Now, are you busy, or would you like to sit and watch some TV with me?”

Winter nodded, and her eyes lit up. “Oh yes. I think that would be really nice.”

Layla smiled as she turned the TV back on. She felt good that she’d made her friend feel better.

17 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Reaching Out

  1. Layla is so gentle and wise with Winter. She’s going to be missed while Winter is away on her adventure with Birch! I’m tingly with excitement wondering what new friends and enemies she might make along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know… I was frantically trying to think of ways to keep Layla in the story the other night, but I think I’m going to have to be strong like Winter and let her go for a while. New characters will be a good distraction -always exciting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. One last talk with Layla. I like that you let her and Winter have one more moment together before Winter will set off on her new journey. 🙂 As always Layla gives the best advice to her friend. Doubts happen a lot, especially when it comes to change.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Doubts are a prerequisite of change, I think. But that’s what friends are for. 🙂 I had to get Layla in to the story one last time before she’s “rested” for a while. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

