#Blogbattle : One Wild Ride

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is ride. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:

1. 1000 words max

2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)

3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )

4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related

5. Go for the entertainment value!

6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)

7. Have fun!

As I said I would do in a comment to a reader, I have added an option to the menu above to a page that lists all the Winter #blogbattle story.

My genre: Fantasy

Here’s my entry for this week:

One Wild Ride

Winter stared at the tiny spark of light hovering in the sphere fixed to her wall. The Queen’s words were still ringing in her ears. Birch’s too. Her whole world had been turned inside out in a very short space of time.

She almost didn’t know who she was anymore, let alone where she was or what she wanted.

He took her hands, pulled her into her bedroom and sat her down on the bed, then crouched before her. “I know you’re having a whirlwind of a day, Winter, but like the Queen said, there are things I need to explain to you, or rather, one thing I need to ask you.”

“What?”

“Do you remember me telling you a while ago about my dream to go beyond the Hollow and the Garden, that I want to see the world?”

She nodded.

“Well, there has been talk for quite a while now, about the imbalance of the world. The legends say it’s our job to keep nature in balance, to see that the seasons happen when they should and the weather behaves as it should, but somewhere along the line we lost those abilities. The Queen believes your gift is the beginning of them coming back and that they’re coming back because they’re needed. So, she wants us to go and speak to other fairy clans, find out if any more fairies have powers like yours. Winter, are you with me?”

She was following his words, but their meaning felt far away, disconnected from her. This wasn’t her life. She was meant to come back to the Hollow and live and be happy. She wasn’t supposed to be dragged around the world looking for others who had been cursed or gifted or whatever you wanted to call it.

Birch stood up, then sat down beside her. He turned her head gently, with one finger on her chin, to face him. “I know this is a lot. But it’s important. You need to decide Winter, do you want to go?”

From somewhere she found her voice. “But it’s dangerous out there, that’s what they’ve always said. We keep to ourselves, stay at home where it’s safe. What happens if the other fairies don’t want us near their clans? They might hurt us. They might….”

He laid a finger over her lips, silencing her. “Sometimes you have to take a risk Winter. For the good of the world, and for adventure, to live and see things, sometimes you just have to take a risk.”

It was clear he was excited, ready and raring to go.

But she needed time. She took his finger from her lips and said, “Can I think about it? I feel like my mind might explode with everything.”

He smiled, but there was a tinge of disappointment, matched by an understanding look in his eyes. “Okay. I’ll come back and talk to you later, if you like.” He stood up, as if to leave.

She stood as well, and caught him with a kiss before he could turn away. “How about I come and find you instead?”

He looked as if he didn’t understand her reasoning, but agreed anyway. “Okay. I’ll see you later.”

“Later,” she echoed, as he left the room.

Much turmoil has passed in the time since she’d watched him leave. She still didn’t really understand the reasons behind the proposed adventure. She knew the legends as well as anyone, but it was hard to accept that there really could be truth in them, and that they could be connected to her, touching her insignificant life.

Regardless, a decision was forming inside of her.

When she had been banished from the Hollow, she had been so scared and felt like she wouldn’t survive, but she had met Layla, and everything had been okay in the end. Maybe this was just the same. Maybe she had to put her trust in Birch and take a leap of faith.

The idea of leaving the Hollow and the Garden scared her, but it also excited her, even though that scared her a little too.

A little hesitantly, she stepped from her room, her decision made, and one of Birch’s frequent sayings came into her mind. “It’s going to be one wild ride.”

23 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : One Wild Ride

  1. Nice… I was away for so long that I missed a lot of Winter’s story. But I’ll catch up slowly.
    I love your writing and even though I haven’t read this story from a long time, I can still feel connected. That in itself is just so amazing 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A new adventure is beginning for Winter, and I’m so excited to see where all this will take her! I love Birch’s advice to Winter, that to live and see things we have to take risks sometimes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

