#Blogbattle : Change

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is legumes. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:
1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)7. Have fun!

As I said I would do in a comment to a reader, I have added an option to the menu above to a page that lists all the Winter #blogbattle story.

This week was, well, difficult. Two reasons: legumes was a hard one, and I’ve had a cold that has made my brain feel like soup. So I’m just pleased I’ve managed to get something written. 🙂

My genre: Fantasy

Here’s my entry for this week:

Change

Layla stared at a blinking cursor. And a blank page.

Nothing. There was nothing.

She got up, and went down to the kitchen.

The fridge. There had to be something good in the fridge.

She picked up the remains of yesterday’s chocolate cream cake, and sat at the table.

Where had all the words gone?

She looked at the time. Perhaps she could get dinner going?

She finished off her cake, and then went out into the garden.

Her legume patch was to her left, just out of the sun. As she passed the corner of the building, she caught sight of Winter, darting about over the flower patch. From that distance she was just a speck of light, a silver star that only certain people could see. Another little star caught her eye. Probably Birch. She left them to it, and continued to her peas.

They were just right for picking. She took a few handfuls, and then went back indoors.

Dinner was going to be a summer stew of chicken, peas, and other vegetables.

As she was cooking, a light scuffling noise made her look up from the stove.

Birch stood on the windowsill, peering in and looking a little shy.

She turned down the heat and went over to him. “Can I help you?” she asked, wondering if he was looking for Winter.

“Erm, well, sort of,” he said. “I wanted to ask you something. I wanted to know your opinion on Winter leaving with me. I want her to come with me on an adventure, but I don’t know if she really would and you’re her friend, so I thought maybe you might know…” He sounded like he had rushed all of his words out and now had no breath left.

Inside, Layla smiled at his nervousness. Boys were never any different – fairy, human, or anything else that may exist in this wide world. “I think she wants to go back into the Hollow, doesn’t she?”

“She does, but I thought, maybe once they’ve accepted her, she might want, she might consider, well, coming with me.”

“Are you set on going?”

“I don’t think I can live my life without seeing the world. Or, as much of it as possible anyway.”

Layla suppressed another smile. The world was an extremely large place for a tiny fairy.

“Well, in that case, perhaps you should make sure she’s aware of your intentions. I don’t know whether she’d go with you or not. I do know she cares for you a lot, so don’t lead her on, okay? Be honest, and she’ll be better for it in the long run.”

He nodded, taking her words seriously. “I will be. Thank you for the advice.” A small smile. “And thank you for taking care of Winter and helping her out when I couldn’t. You’re a special human.”

“So Winter told me when I first saw her.” A flash of silver, the sun catching a fairy’s wings, caught her eye out the window. “I think she’s coming for you now. Remember what I said.”

“I will. Thank you.” He took off from the windowsill, and went back to being a speck of silver light in the air.

Layla turned back to her stew. She would miss Winter if she went, and worry about her. But she had to live her life and make her choices, mistakes or not.

But Layla would always be there for her. She hoped Winter knew that.

28 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Change

  1. Nice! You are very imaginative fitting the words to the story of Winter. I always worry for you when I see the new words but you always find a way! Respect to you PG85 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Phoenix, this Tuesday marks six months of blog battles! You’ve been going strong since week two, and I am so thankful for you. Thank you for being there with us every week, for sharing your tale of Winter and Layla without fail. You’re an amazing part of our battles and important to the success of it all. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like that Birch talks to Layla, even though she’s human. 🙂 Layla is a nice friend, wanting what’s best for Winter even if it means they won’t see each other for a long while. I’m looking forward to Winter’s journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve been writing Winter’s story since I first joined the blogbattle in its sencond week. Which was almost a year ago now. So there are quite a few installments to the story now. 🙂 I’m glad you like them. There’s a link to a page with links to all the stories in the order they were written at the top of the blog. Or here’s a link to take you to the page: https://phoenixgrey85.wordpress.com/blogbattle-winter/
      Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

