Freestyle Writing Challenge

I was recently nominated for this challenge by the wonderful Sara LeTourneau.  I was a bit intimidated by the idea, but I actually enjoyed it. So thank you Sara for the nomination and experience. 🙂

Here are the rules of the Freestyle Writing Challenge:

  1. Open a blank document.
  2. Set a stop watch or mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes.
  3. Your topic is at the foot of this post. DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!
  4. Once you start writing, do not stop until the alarm sounds!
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check. (The challenge is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought-flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.
  7. At the end of your post, write down “No. of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the timeframe.
  8. Copy and paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees, and copy / paste these rules along with your nomination (at least 5 bloggers).

The prompt is: 

Pick any fictional world you’ve read about. Now, pretend you open a book about this world. On the last page, you find a moving / animated picture of the world – and you touch it. When your vision clears, you’ve been transported to this world. Where are you? What happens as soon as you arrive there?

And my answer:

I am in a field. Green grass stretches out before me. The most lushes shade I have ever seen. The sky is blue, odd white clouds drift by now and again obscuring the sun. But never long, and not by much.

A river runs to my right, no, not a river, more like a stream. Small rocks break the flow, and white droplets sprinkle into the air, caught b the heat of the sun and dried before te fall.

I close my eyes and take it in. I can’t believe where I am.

The cry of a eagle draws my attention above me. I look. A majestic bird wheels in the blue skies. It scans the ground for prey, or something else, perhaps

My imagination running wild again.

I start to walk, hoping to see, what? The characters from the book I‘ve just read?

That’s ridiculous.

There are mountains in the distance to my left. I veer my course, unsure why, but I’m drawn to them. Snow tipped peaks touch the sky.

I am mesmerised the openness of this land. I had imagined it before. But it is more vivid than could see in my head.

Another cry, this time louder. Again I look up, and I stare, eyes wide and mouth open.

A dragon!

It cuts through the air, powerful wings beating. As it omes closer it is as if the earth moves in rhythm to the drumbeat of its flight. It seems to be dropping closer to the ground, landing.

I move back a few steps It is heading toward me.

Wind, as strong as a gale almost knocks me to the ground as its great claws anchor it to the earth.

And it looks at me. With it’s amber eyes it looks at me. Taking me in. I feel it is seeing through me. Into me.

It cocks it head and says. “Hello, young one.”

Now I do fall. The chock is too much. A dragon is speaking to me, is all I can think as my um hits the ground.

“Do not be alarmed,” it says, its voice lighter than I imagined it would be. Gravelly though.

“Alarmed?” I splutter. “How.. I mean, you’re a dragon!”

“Yes, and you are where you do not belong. And yet, you found your way here. Now you must find your way ni this world.”

I looked around me again. “Can’t I go back?”

“Perhaps, that is yet to be decided.”

“By who?” I find my feet again, feeling I need at least a small piece of dignity before this mighty creature.

“By those who rule this land, and the others of imagination.”

“And they are?”

No, of words = 447 in 10 minutes.

Now for my nominees and prompt: 

Racheal Ritchey

E. Rawls

Blondewritemore

Chic Prune

Candice Coates

No one has to participate. Just know that I would be really interested to read your responses. 🙂

The prompt: 

You wake up one morning. Everything’s quiet. No electricity. No people. Everyone has gone. You go outside…

What happens next?

13 thoughts on “Freestyle Writing Challenge

  1. Ooooh, great job, Phoenix! I think I’d be a little frightened, too, if a dragon was speaking to me. And a cliffhanger ending! Your timer “knew” when to go off, I guess. 🙂

    Which world did you pick, btw? I was thinking maybe Middle Earth, but I couldn’t tell.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

