#Blogbattle : Oasis

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is oasis. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:
1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)7. Have fun!

As I said I would do in a comment to a reader, I have added an option to the menu above to a page that lists all the Winter #blogbattle story.

Here’s my entry for this week:

Oasis

Winter brought her arms down from above her head forming an imaginary circle in the air.

“In the Hollow, right in the centre is the Oasis. On special nights when the full moon is shining in the sky, its reflection dances in the water of the Oasis. We dance under the moon and stars, the magic high and the music of the Players filling the air. The Queen watches from her throne at the back of the pool, and when she gets up to dance we clear space for her, right in the centre, right where the magic of the moon concentrates over the water. She is the most beautiful of us all. Her daughters are now growing up, and last year, they took their first dance over the Oasis. Time stands still on those nights, until suddenly, it seems, the moon sets and the magic dies away. We creep away to our beds and sleep the next day. For the three nights of the full moon we dance, and then, when it’s over, peace descends over the Hollow, our magic replenished and revived until the next special full moon.”

Layla asked, “There’s a full moon every month. What makes a special one?”

“I don’t know, exactly. It’s when the moon lines up with the waters of the Oasis. Its the way Nature made it.” Winter spun around on one tiptoe, her wings out helping her to balance.

“It sounds beautiful,” Layla said. “Do you enjoy dancing?”

“I do.” She looked wistful. “And maybe one day I will again.”

Layla held her hand out. Winter landed on it. “You will. You’re learning to control the ice. You just need confidence in yourself, in your ability.”

She gazed at Layla’s palm, imagining the Oasis there, seeing tiny fairies dance above it. Remembering the night she and Birch first kissed…

“What is it?” Layla asked, a strange tone in her voice.

Winter looked up. “What?”

“You’re blushing!”

She slapped her hands over her cheeks and realised they felt hot. “No I’m not.” She turned away, then took off, landing on the sofa. No ice even threatened to form.

Layla gave a small laugh. “Oh Winter, it’s okay to be embarrassed now and again. You don’t have to tell me what you were thinking if you don’t want to.”

Winter didn’t know where to put herself. Or what to say. “Okay,” she mumbled.

They sat in silence for a moment. Layla was half-laid on the sofa, resting back against the arm and a blanket draped over her legs, her knees up to the level of the back cushions. Winter flitted over and landed on one of them. “I don’t know how to ask them,” she said, “how to ask to go back to the Hollow.”

“Could Birch help you?”

“He could, but… I kind of wanted to do it on my own. I want them to accept me back because they want me, not because they think he’ll look after me, or that they don’t want him to leave with me.”

“Didn’t you say he was thinking of leaving anyway?”

“Yes, but that would be his choice, not just because they won’t have me back.”

“Hm I see. Could you just, I don’t know, knock on the door, or its equivalent?”

Winter got a very funny image of herself knocking on the tree roots that surrounded the Hollow. She didn’t think that would work. “I have to ask the Queen, somehow, but how can I if they wont let me in?”

“Some of them come out, right? Couldn’t you ask one of them if they could ask the Queen if you could speak with her, if that made sense?”

Winter thought through the words. “I suppose. It’s just who.” She sat down to think. Her heart hammered at the thought. This would take a lot of courage.

27 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Oasis

  1. Great stuff – a couple of things – how do I get to go dance over the Oasis? It sounds like my kind of place and I am good at dancing! Secondly – who allowed Birch to think about leaving??

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I’m sure you do get used to the Oasis. I have such a beautiful image of it in my mind. I wish I could fully describe what I’m seeing. Thank you for reading and liking and commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The fairy oasis sounds beautiful and lots of fun dancing. And it’s where Birch kissed her! ^_^ Nice Winter memories. I wonder if Winter will gather enough courage and be allowed to return to the Hollow. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. BlondeLucy would beat me in a dance-off. I know that for sure. I’ve not heard about your skills, so I have no idea, but if anything, the best dancing us when you’re having fun. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m just now getting around to reading the weeks I missed. Oh…such an enchanting oasis!! I would love to dance there too!! This story would be even more beautiful if it was illustrated, yet I pictured everything clearly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

