#Blogbattle : Her Dream?

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is dream. This is run by Rachael Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:
1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)7. Have fun!

As I said I would do in a comment to a reader, I have added an option to the menu above to a page that lists all the Winter #blogbattle story.

Here’s my entry for this week:

Her Dream?

“Come on,” Birch said, “you must have a dream. Something. Even if it’s crazy and wild.”

Winter shook her head. “Nope. My only dream right now is to go home, back to the Hollow.”

Birch sighed. “Something big Winter. Like, okay, I’ll tell you my dream.”

Her interest in the conversation grew. “Really? What is it?”

He rolled over, so that he was laid on his belly. The garden, bathed in twilight, spread out before the branch they were on. “I want to see life beyond this garden. I want to know what’s beyond the walls, I want to see the big world out there.”

His eyes seemed to shine as he spoke, and his wonder and curiosity infected Winter. “That sounds like a really big dream,” she said. The walls ringed the entire garden, they stood higher than Layla, who exited through a wooden gate built into the stone.

“What about you?” Birch asked, looking up at her. “Do you want to see what’s beyond?”

“Sometimes,” she admitted. “I almost went out with Layla once. But she was worried I would get hurt, and then there’s what the Elder always told us about other fairies. We shouldn’t stray into their territories. They might…. What?”

A slow smile spread across his face, and he said, “You worry too much, you know. But you look cute when you’re doing it, so I kind of don’t want you to stop. Carry on, please.”

She felt a blush tinge her cheeks, burning red. “It’s true though,” she muttered, feeling very self-conscious.

“It is true, but it’s not a reason not to do it. Life is dangerous Winter. Some things are just more dangerous than others. Look at what you did with the bees a while back. You didn’t have to do that, but you chose to put yourself in danger, what does it matter what the reason is?”

She hadn’t thought about it that way before. “But if you went away, you wouldn’t be here.”

He sat up, curling his feet and legs beneath him. “You could come with me, you know. Not that I have any plans or anything. But if I did, you could.”

“Really? You’d really want me with you?” Her heart hammered, and her body felt all shaky.

He took her hands, and she cringed because her palms were all sweaty. “Of course I would. I told you back in Spring, I care about you Winter. And I know things are… delicate between us but I’m just going to say this now because I need to say it and I think you need to hear it. I love you. Simple. I love you and I want to be with you always, no matter what that means.”

It felt like forever that she stared at him with her mouth open, her mind a whirlwind of words that made no sense. The words that finally did leave her lips, though, were just the right ones. “I love you too.” But where had they come from? Her heart. They didn’t live in her mind. They lived in her heart.

He kissed her, and it was perfect. Her heart fluttered like it had its very own pair of wings.

She looked into his eyes and said, these words definitely coming from her muddled brain, “But what if I create ice everywhere we go?”

He smiled. “Winter, look down.”

She frowned. “Why?”

“Just do it.”

She did. And grinned. “No ice..” She had been sat there all evening with him and there was no ice.

“Now,” he said, “how about that dream of yours?”

30 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Her Dream?

  1. Too bad everyone already said how sweet this is. It really is, though. I love how they talk about their dreams together here, but I really love how Birch pointed out the lack of ice. It was classically perfect. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved it!! I think my heart fluttered when Birch said, “I love you. Simple.” *sigh* The words I love you too didn’t live in her mind, they lived in her heart. So romantic. I’m still smiling. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

