Liebster Award!

liebster-award

I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by Rachael Ritchey over at Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check her blog out. She’s one of the wonderful friends I’ve met through blogging.

Now, the rules for this award are:

  • Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
  • Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
  • Nominate 7-10 (supposed to be 10 ) other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you
  • Make ten questions of your own for your nominees.
  • Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.
  • ALL THE NOMINEES ARE FREE TO ACCEPT OR REJECT THE NOMINATION

Now for the answers to the questions I was posed:

1. If you could be any super hero, already imagined or one of your own making, what would it be? Why?

Okay, this one took some answering, but I’ve just thought of an answer. I would be Boo Girl. I would fly around delivering books to kids/people who don’t have many. I would do it to open their eyes to all the amazing worlds that exist in the written word.

2. Forrest Gump said, “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” Are you the kind of person who will try anything once or are you afraid of the possibility of hating whatever you might bite into, so you don’t try?

I’m a bit of a mix f the two. I like to try new things, but I have a lot of fear and anxiety about new things. So, it’s a case of “if I’m brave enough I’ll try it.” 🙂

3. What is it about blogging that makes you keep coming back for more?

The friends I’ve made, the potential to meet even more wonderful people. I like the comments and feedback I get on the writing that I post. I love the sense of community.

4. If you could tell the next generation one thing, what would it be?

Don’t stop reading books! E-readers and computers are great and all, but please don’t stop reading real books!

Seriously though, I’d probably tell them that it’s important to realise that most things are worth more than money, that you can’t put a monetary values on some things. Like the environment, and education, and health.

5.Were/are you cool or a nerd in high school? How does this affect your outlook on life now?

Cool? You’ve got to be kidding. I was probably the biggest nerd in the school. 😀 Looking back, I’m kind of proud of that fact, but at the time it wasn’t fun. I am a more compassionate person, I think, for being on the outside of the social circles in school.

6. Do you have a favorite place to just sit and relax? If so, where?

My bed. I like to lean back against the pillars, book in hand, or headphones on, close my eyes and relax.

7. What is your biggest secret goal for this year?

My biggest goal this year to actually edit one of my WIPs! I have been trying to do this since last year, and I’m good at making excuses to not do it. I have books to read to help me learn, I have about 3 manuscripts that need working on. But it intimidates me, so I keep finding other things to write instead. I will do it by the end of the year! I am now determined!

8. When did you first start blogging and how did it feel?

I first started blogging on *goes to have a look* 22nd August 2014, to be precise. Wow, almost a year! Wow! That’s gone quick. I was rather nervous when I made my first, and I honestly believed no one would read it. I was elated when I got my first like, and then my first comment. And then people actually started regularly looking at my posts. I still can’t quite believe it.

9.No matter how many times I try to stay away from alien questions, Brant Hanson’s voice keeps popping back in my head. I have to ask, If an alien from outer space offered you one million dollars and an island of your own in exchange for your ability to formulate coherent replies to people’s questions, would you do it?

No. Where would the fun be in that? 😀

10. What are your top 3-5 qualities you appreciate/admire in your friends?

Kindness, open-mindedness, humour, compassion, supportive.

Now for my nominees and their questions:

E Rawls

Chic Prune

Blondewritemore

Stephanie’s Book Reviews

Terri Webster Schrandt at Perspectives On…

Claire Banschbach at The Overactive Imagination

Galit at Coffee n Notes

Sara Letourneau

And now for my questions:

1. If you are a writer, what is the first story you wrote? Are you proud or ashamed of it?

2. If a big publisher offered you a multi-book deal but you had to radically change what you’re writing, would you take it?

3. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?

4. What made you start blogging? And have you ever considered giving it up?

5. Do you enjoy listening to music? What genre/type?

6. Introvert or extrovert? Or somewhere in-between?

7. Is there a book that you’ve read cover-to-cover more than once? What is it?

8. Do you have a toy from childhood that you still own and cherish? (Mine is a Superted cuddly toy. 😀 )

9. If you had a time machine, what would you do with it?

10. Finally, what’s the one thing you would tell your past-self it you could?

27 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. my blog’s about to turn a year old too! i think my first official post was in september but i set up the ‘about me’ page in early august-ish.

    great answers here, my favorite was book girl. i’m left wondering what her costume looks like. i can’t decide if she wears something skin tight and leather bound or something old, dutsy, worn and frayed at the edges – any thoughts? and i’ll definitely join in the fun, hopefully not too much later. i’ll do my best 😉

    p.s. great questions rachael!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. We’re celebrating pretty close together then. 🙂 I’m tryinng to think what to do to mar the occasion. Currently coming up blank.
      I don’t see Book Girl in skin tight. I think maybe a bit random clothing – not much fashion sense, but still acceptable? I’m not great with clothing, but I see nerd-ish clothing, without being old and frumpy. If you get my meaning.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. we should have a joint party then 😉 but then how do we divy up the gifts…oh the problems.

        about Book Girl, we talkin’ Big Bang Theory look or something less mainstream nerdy?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hm, I don’t know much about Big Bang Theory. Not something I’ve ever watched, though I do know it’s a TV program, so I’m not completely out of the loop. 🙂
        I think Book Girl would have a unique nerdy look, a mix of the old and the new. I’m thinking I’m going to have to create this character and somehow make an image of her. She’s haunting me now!
        And I don’t mind about gifts. The fact that people are reading my blog is quite enough for me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for high school nerds! And I totally support getting kids/people to read real books more; Book Girl is awesome!
    Your blogversary is coming up? Mine is the 16th! 😀 What will you do to celebrate yours?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Book Girl is pretty cool. 🙂 Not sure what I’m going to do for the blogoversary. Hadn’t thought about it, or even realised it was so near. I’ll have t come up with something. You doing anything?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved reading your answers hun and congrats 💐 on the award.
    I am almost at a year as well 😀
    Thank you so much for the nomination hun and I love your questions a lot and I can’t wait to answer them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh goodness, thank you for the nomination. 🙂 I might not get to it for a while; I’ve been tagged on a bunch of things recently, and I haven’t gotten to them because of upcoming deadlines (DIY MFA and self-imposed) for other articles. But I will do it, and will tag you when it happens!

    I love your answer to #3. And #5, too. You and I would have gotten along pretty well if we’d gone to school together. I was a bit of a nerd myself, and also very shy.

    #8: Looks like you’ve got a blogoversary coming up soon! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wasn’t until I wrote this post that I realised how close the one year blogoversary is.
      I wish we had gone to school together in that case. It would have been nice to have another shy nerd to hang out with. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much! Since I’ve already done this before I’m not going to do a post, but I always like to answer the questions.

    1. If you are a writer, what is the first story you wrote? Are you proud or ashamed of it?
    I used to write a ton as a kid, but I don’t really remember them and I never really finished them. I did NaNo last year and got the word count, but still haven’t finished the story. So I don’t think I would say ashamed, but definitely not proud.

    2. If a big publisher offered you a multi-book deal but you had to radically change what you’re writing, would you take it?
    Yes. I can say this because I don’t have anything currently that I feel strongly about. There are probably some lines I wouldn’t cross, but if they wanted me to write like a different topic or something, sure.

    3. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?
    How out of control people get when they’re offended by something and how refuse to even consider another side. You can have an opinion and different values, but just live and let live. I think people just need to calm down about everything.

    4. What made you start blogging? And have you ever considered giving it up?
    I wanted a place to vent my thoughts on books and I wanted ARCs haha. I consider giving it up at least once a week.

    5. Do you enjoy listening to music? What genre/type?
    Yeah, mostly top 40 stuff.

    6. Introvert or extrovert? Or somewhere in-between?
    Extremely introvert.

    7. Is there a book that you’ve read cover-to-cover more than once? What is it?
    Yes, a ton. I’m a big re-reader. Just this month so far I’ve re-read 5 books.

    8. Do you have a toy from childhood that you still own and cherish? (Mine is a Superted cuddly toy. 😀 ) Not really.

    9. If you had a time machine, what would you do with it?
    Go back to my high school self and tell myself the things I should have chilled out about and the stuff I should’ve been more concerned about. And to choose a different college and major.

    10. Finally, what’s the one thing you would tell your past-self it you could?
    Oh, I kind of just answered that above. So that and “Don’t eat that.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ooh, I like your answers. I like how you’d change the world, I think it would be vastly improved if people respected others’ opinions and lifestyles more. Also, I’m intrigued by “don’t eat that.” o_O

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your answers, Phoenix! Thanks so much for participating. It’s so good to have you as a friend. 🙂 One theme I see weaved throughout all your answers, you love to encourage and connect with people and are compassionate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

