Half Way Through The Year

At New Year I did a post outlining the things that I intended to do this year. I had great plans, all the right intentions, and bucket loads of motivation. I knew how I was going to get these things done. And for a start, I carried out these plans. I did what I intended. I was motivated.

But then, somehow, life took over, and I stopped making the time for writing. I let things slip. When I realised, I felt bad, and guilty, and these feelings rarely lead to good.

So at the beginning of June, when I could no longer live with the bad feelings anymore, I made a fresh commitment to writing. I got myself a calendar, and swore that I would have something writing related to put on every day of that calendar. So far, it’s worked. I’ve got word counts, days when I’ve edited, days when I’ve done blog posts, days when I’ve done plotting. Some days I’ve done more than one of these things.

I feel much better about myself now than I did at the beginning of June. πŸ™‚

I’ve got several projects I’m currently working on. I’m writing more short stories. (Partly thanks to the #Blogbattle on Tuesdays.) Editing is still the hardest part of writing for me. I’m learning as I’m going. But I’m enjoying it πŸ™‚

This is my half way through the year re-commitment to my goals for the year. I shall edit. I shall write. I shall read. And I shall keep dreaming of the day when I finally have something that’s worth thinking about publishing.

But most of all? I shall have fun doing it. πŸ™‚

PS: I’m behind with a lot of things at the moment, and one of those is reading blog posts. I have a quite a few bookmarked that I want and intend to read. Life just has a lot of demands at the moment and, as above, I’m trying to prioritise writing. But I will get to them. I am reorganising my life, and prioritising the important things. And this community that I’ve found on here is one of them.

6 thoughts on “Half Way Through The Year

  1. Sometimes life just keeps you away from writing/editing so don’t feel guilty hun, just write (even a few lines). I can’t edit at all right now, with all that is going on, lol, but I do enjoy the free style writing πŸ˜€
    I am so happy for you that things going well with your goals and I am surer they will be even better β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Right there with you. Life can take over so fast. For months now, the wife had been telling me to set up a schedule. Finally did and it’s made all the difference. Just starting to add to it now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Having a plan, but one that isn’t strict, has really helped keep me going and not get too sad when I fail to accomplish as much as I intended to that day or week. Setting small goals and reachable goals, I guess you could call it. πŸ™‚ I’m so glad it has been working for you, and that June was a better month. I hope July will also be a good month for you. Editing is difficult, especially Draft 2. I had a hard time with mine. Here are some articles I found helpful: This one says it’s for Draft 1, but it can work for Draft 2 as well http://www.shesnovel.com/10-things-editing-first-draft/
    And how to balance the show don’t tell rule: http://www.shesnovel.com/balance-show-dont-tell/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These look like really useful articles. Thank you for the links. πŸ™‚ I shall keep persevering with the editing. I’m determined to get it right. Small and achievable goals are definitely the way forward.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

