The Reader Problems Tag

Thank you to E.Rawls who tagged me to do this post. I’ve seen it a few times o a few other blogs, and winced at some of the questions. Now it’s my turn to answer them. This could be interesting…

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Wow, that’s a lot of books! How would I choose? Well, I suppose I would narrow it down by genre, probably fantasy or science fiction, depending on what I’d just read, and what I was in the mood for, then choose something that had been on my list for the longest, or something that jumped out at me. Sometimes they do, sometimes it has to be a logical decision.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

Commit. I wish I could be more of a quitter, because when I get to the end of a book I’ve not particularly enjoyed, I feel a bit like I’ve wasted precious reading time. But then, I have heard it said that you can learn as much from a book you don’t like as one that you do. Either way, I’m far too stubborn to quit. Anything. This isn’t always good.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I do do the Goodraeds challenge, but it’s not something that bothers me too much. I put it at a conservative number for a start. so I haven’t had the problem yet. But, knowing me, I would probably commit. I’m not good at losing either.

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

Had this problem. It’s irritated me. I’ve gotten over it. Mostly. I have to keep telling myself that it’s the words inside that’s the important part, not the covers and designs of the books.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Anyone who’ll listen? Probably someone online.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?

Probably by hiding myself as much as possible i the book, grabbing my tissues and hoping no one notices me. I don’t often read in public though, this being just one of the reasons.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

Re-read. I’ve got this problem with a series at the moment. A sequel is going to be released (last I heard ) to the Sabriel books from about 10 yearse ago. I remember in a hazy fashion what happened, but I need to read them again to refresh things. Plus, a perfect excuse to re-read books I love. 🙂

8. You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

Hm. Good question. Knowing me, I probably wouldn’t be able to say no, and spend all the time they had the book worrying about it. Sigh.

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

Re-read a book I really love. Something in the fantasy genre. Reacquaint myself with my love of reading.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

As many as I can afford!

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Until I’ve finished the book I’m currently reading. This happened at Christmas when I got Clariel. There was no way it was going to the back of the queue. 😀

Okay, now it’s nomination time. Because I’m not very good at this, and because everyone that I can think of has already been nominated, I’m going to nominate anyone who reads this. 🙂 If anyone does decide to take up the challenge, let me know. I love to read answers to these sorts of questions.

6 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. it’s a treat reading these posts. i first read e. rawls answers and am looking forward to sharing my own too so i won’t give you any spoilers right now 😉 but i will give a disclaimer, my answers probably won’t be very interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

