#Blogbattle : Unwelcome News

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is news. This is run by Racheal Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.
The rules:
1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)
7. Have fun!
Here’s my entry for this week:

Unwelcome News

Layla closed her eyes and laid her hands flat on the paper. It felt like her feelings had just been thrown into the washing machine, now churning and tumbling about. How could Emily do this to her?

“What’s wrong?” Winter’s voice asked.

Layla opened her eyes. Winter landed on the fruit bowl, balancing on an apple. Layla wrinkled her nose. “That’s not very hygienic, you know.”

Winter looked down at her feet, at the apple. “Why not?”

“Your feet have been outside, and now you’re standing on food that someone might eat.”

Winter just gave her a confused look.

“Never mind.” She would remember to wash the apple when Winter had gone again.

“So what’s wrong?” Winter asked again. She held a piece of dried apricot in her hands, parts picked off that she’d eaten.

“How do you know something’s wrong?”

“You’ve got that look.” She bit into the apricot.

“You’re far too perceptive sometimes, you know?”

Winter swallowed, and grinned.

She wasn’t going to let it go, so Layla explained, “Emily’s coming back. Her job placement’s over. She wants to meet me in a few days.”

A moment of heavy silence as Winter absorbed the words, and understood what they meant. All her thoughts passed over her face. She was a very open person, or fairy, rather.

“Are you going to meet her?”

Absently, Layla ran her fingers over the letter. “I don’t know. I want to, but I’m not sure my heart can take it.”

Winter fluttered over to land on her hand. Up close, the concern in her eyes was obvious. “I don’t want to see you hurt again,” she said. “Don’t go if it means that.”

She smiled sadly. “I’m hurt anyway. Even this letter, it’s so much of a reminder. I handled it all badly, and I feel embarrassed and ashamed about it.”

“You shouldn’t,” Winter said. “She should for the way she left you. You were hurt. We all get hurt.” A hint of her own pain played in her voice.

“I know we do. And she could have dealt with it better as well, but I clung so hard to the relationship, I’m not surprised she left me like she did.” Tears threatened to fall, burning her eyes, and her throat started to close.

Winter flew up to her shoulder and put her arms around her neck. The closest thing to a hug she could give. “It was mean. I don’t like mean. I don’t think you should go.”

Layla looked down at the letter again. No, she probably shouldn’t go. But her heart was pulling her towards the words, towards the woman who wrote them. Maybe all she needed was closure, and then she would be free. Maybe just to see her one last time, to prove to herself that she was over her….

Maybe.

19 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Unwelcome News

  1. I love the way Winter talks: “It was mean. I don’t like mean.” So simple and so honest, I adore her. 🙂
    I wonder if this meeting will turn out to be a good thing or not…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my pleasure! I like this story. I have not read the beginning tho. Do you remember the title of that post so that I can back track through the story, find out why Winter has been banished?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. When I read the title, my first thought was oh no, poor Winter, I just love her. This was still upsetting for Layla though, so glad she has Winter in her life!! We could all use a Winter in our lives, lol. So well written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

