#Blogbattle : Thrown For A Loop

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is loop. This is run by Racheal Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:

1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)
7. Have fun!

Here’s my entry for this week:


The birds were singing, flitting in and out of puddles, happy now that the rain had stopped. Spring was in the air. New life.

Winter watched from the birdhouse, her arms hugging her knees to her chest. Cilla was leading another bird on a merry dance around the garden. Their mating dance. She watched, sadness in her heart.

Layla was in her study, working. She wasn’t much fun when she was tapping away on her keyboard, lost in one of her fantasy worlds. So, there Winter was, bored, and sad because she had no mate to lead a dance with.

A flutter of wings caught her ears, and her heart leaped in her chest. A familiar scent reached her nose before he landed on the edge of the birdhouse. Was wishful thinking making her see things?

He shook off a few drips of water from his hair, and pushed the long fringe back from his face. “Hi, Winter.”

For a moment, all she could do was stare. “Are you actually real?” Those were the dumbest words ever spoken. “Er, I mean, what are you doing here?”

A hint of amusement played in his eyes. “I’m real,” he said, then concern came over him. “Do you want me to not be?”

“No.” She said it too quickly. She cleared her throat, and repeated more slowly, “No. I’m just surprised to see you. After… well, you know.” It was still hard to remember that last day in the Hollow.

“You didn’t mean what you said, did you?” He took a hesitant step forward, towards her.

She stood up. “Which part?”

“About us. About me being better off without you. Because, you know, that really threw me for a loop. I’m sorry if this is too much, maybe I should’ve started with pleasantries, asked how you are first.” He cleared his throat. “How are you?” And looked a little sheepish.

She smiled. She’d missed his ramblings. “I’m, well, I’m not fine. But I’m something that’s not completely heartbroken anymore. How are you Birch?”

“Missing you.”

She’d missed his blunt honesty as well. “Birch, I…”

He took another step forward. “Just tell me you didn’t mean it. Tell me that you still at least have feelings for me. Or just tell me to go away. And I will. And I’ll never bother you again Winter. But what we had, that was going somewhere right?” His blue eyes were wide, full of hope yet fearing her answer as well.

Her heart ached, it physically hurt as it tore in two with indecision. She cared. She couldn’t not. But her power, it wasn’t safe. Ice crackled from her feet where she stood. There was no Nutkin there to provide a fluffy-tailed buffer between her and the wood. “You know the reason I was cast out,” she said. “Doesn’t it bother you?”

“No. Okay, maybe at first. But now I’ve thought about it and actually missed you, no, it doesn’t.” He came closer still and took her hands. “Winter, can we at least be friends again? Start this over again? I want to be around you again. Don’t you feel the same?”

She thought that he wanted to say more, but was holding back so as not to scare her away. “I do want us to be friends.” The words were out before she could stop them. “I just don’t want you to lose everything like I have as a consequence of being my friend.” His rambling tendency was rubbing off on her. She added in a small voice, “I don’t want you to hate me..”

“I could never hate you.” He shook his head. Defiant. “Never. Let’s just be friends, see how things go?”

She couldn’t suppress the smile that came to her lips, even though the worry didn’t subside completely. “Okay. Friends. But the minute they start to turn on you, you leave me alone. Don’t make yourself an outcast too.” She couldn’t stand that thought. But the idea of not being alone anymore, of having fairy company…she couldn’t say no. And she had missed him. More than she wanted to admit right then.

He looked relieved. “No more loop-throwing?”

She bit her bottom lip. Then said, “Okay. No more loop-throwing. I’ll give you lots of warning next time I’m going to dump you.”


29 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Thrown For A Loop

      1. And her family’s fear, too. I think that will be a touching scene, when she finally gets to go home. Or, I should stop writing the story in my head before the author has written it, because I love your story, Phoenix. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ohhh…I just loved this. I’m definitely a sucker for romance!! Hope they can have at least one dance together soon. 😉 You write in such beautiful detail, that I can vividly picture each flutter of their wings, each gesture, and I can actually feel their emotions as well. So happy for Winter!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ok i’ll say it, the last line stole the show. birch, as a name, is great and came in a close second as my favorite part.

    p.s. this installment had me singing, ‘gimme one reason’ by tracey chapman in my head the whole time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

