#Blogbattle : Iced Buns

This week’s #blogbattle word prompt is bun. This is run by Racheal Ritchey over on her blog Writing Rachael Ritchey. I encourage you to check out her blog, and this challenge.

The rules:

1. 1000 words max
2. fictional tale (or true if you really want)
3. PG (no more than PG-13) Content – let’s keep this family friendly! (this week will be difficult, I know. That’s a somewhat violent word! Remember, use your imagination. 🙂 )
4. Your story must contain the word(s) from the theme and/or be centered around the theme in a way that shows it is clearly related
5. Go for the entertainment value!
6. Use the hashtag #BlogBattle, put a link back to your #BlogBattle Short Story in the comments section of this post, and/or include a link to this post in your own blog post (it creates a “ping-back” which will alert me and our friends to your #BlogBattle post)
7. Have fun!

Here’s my entry for this week:


Iced Buns

“Don’t land on there!”

Winter stopped, a hand-span from the top of the white thing on the table. The panic in Layla’s voice panicked her. “Why?”

“Because,” Layla approached the table and moved the white thing, “it’s sticky. You’ll ruin it and get sticky feet.”

Winter landed on the table, trying desperately not to make ice beneath her feet. It spread out in small tendrils. “What is it?”

Layla put it back down on the table. “It’s an iced bun. Tara gave it to me. They were on offer at the store and apparently she needed to resist the temptation of eating more than one.”

“Why?”

“Because she doesn’t want to gain anymore weight.”

Winter searched back through her memory. “Tara’s the red-head, right? The one you said was curvy.”

“Yes.” Layla smiled. “That’s her.”

“Oh.” Winter flitted over to the iced bun. It looked quite a strange thing. “Why would this make her gain weight?”

“Because it’s got a lot of calories in it.” She bit the bottom of her lip, then muttered, “Why am I explaining calories and weight gain to a fairy? Do fairies even gain weight?”

“Oh yes,” Winter answered, though she wondered if she was supposed to or not. “One fairy, in my mother’s generation, ate too many nuts and then couldn’t fly. She was lazy though. Never did anything.” Her attention went back to the iced bun. “It smells very sweet. Can I try some?”

Layla made a ‘not sure’ face. “There’s a lot of sugar in it…”

“What’s sugar?”

Layla looked thoughtful, then said, “You told me fairies drink nectar sometimes, right?”

Winter nodded. “Is it like nectar?”

“Yes, I suppose so. It’s sweet.”

Winter hovered her finger near to the white stuff on the bun. “I love nectar, so bet I’d like it. Can I?”

A sigh. “Okay, but just a tiny bit. I don’t want you rolling about with stomach ache.”

That was a strange thing to say. “Why would I roll?”

“I… I’m not sure. It’s just something my mother used to say.” She shook her head. “Anyway, a tiny bit.”

Winter licked her lips, and spread her finger over the icing. It was grainy, and sticky, and smooth at the same time. She licked her finger, and it was every bit as good as she had thought it would be. “Oh, wow, this is sweet! Like nectar, only better.” She couldn’t help but grin. Her whole body was buzzing. Like a bee had found its way inside.

“Winter? Are you all right?” Layla took the bun away.

Winter leapt off the table. She had so much energy. What to do with it? “Absolutely fine. Brilliant. Wonderful!” She flew around the room, up and down, then spotted the window. More space so she could fly even faster!

“Winter!” Layla called as she passed the window and left the kitchen behind.

This sugar stuff was amazing. She felt she could fly to the stars and back again.

She zipped around the garden several times, giggling and dodging leaves and trees and birds. But then, as she reached the birdhouse for the second time, her stomach started to hurt and her energy drained. She landed on the roof and sat down. She didn’t feel good at all.

Layla approached her. “Let me guess, a stomach ache?”

Winter nodded, miserable.

Another sigh, and she was scooped up in warm hands. “Come on, let’s get you inside until it passes.”

“I’m never eating sugar again,” Winter moaned.

“That’s what they all say.”


30 thoughts on “#Blogbattle : Iced Buns

  1. This reminds me so much of the stories my grandmother used to tell. Always a moral that I’d ignore until it directly affected me. I always had to learn things the hard way. Lol. That was very fun. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this!! I could just picture the tiny amount of sugar she actually tasted, LOL. So glad sugar doesn’t affect me that way, I’d never come down. 🙂 Though chocolate is definitely my weakness.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

