Part 15 of The Hunter: Friends With The Hunter

Here it is. Yesterday’s promised epilogue (or whatever you want to call it). 🙂

I hope this wraps up the story well. I’m not great with endings, so I’ve just had to close my eyes and hit “post”.

The first part of the story is here.


Lena took Tang’s hand. “This won’t be the end, will it?” she asked.

“No. We will meet again, I am sure.” He hesitated, his face grim, then said, “If the Faraster bothers you again,
please get word to me. Don’t try and fight them alone. This was my mess after all.”

“Don’t worry,” Zinna said, “we’ll let you know.”

“Good.” Tang either missed the undercurrent of blame in her tone, or ignored it.

Leo took Tang’s hand after Lena. “You are a brave man,” he said. “I am honoured to have met you and watched you do what you do.” He still hadn’t lost his boyish admiration of his hero.

“Remember I am just a man,” Tang replied. “The things that are said, well, you seldom hear the truth in gossip and rumours, do you? You are good at what you do. Remember that.”

“Oh, I will.” Those words he would cherish, frame them if he could. And coming from anyone but Tang, they would have been ignored.

Lena walked with Tang to the transporter, for him to return to the Emoen. “Do you believe we’ve seen the last of the Faraster?” She tried one last time for a straight answer.

He shook his head, as if in despair. “I wish I could answer you with certainty. We may have, we may not. I don’t know her state now, her intentions. I hope she will lose her power before she can do any more damage.”

Then the question she burned with. “What is she? She isn’t mortal, is she?”

“I don’t think so. I believe she is some sort of machine, something her people created. A monster that now rules them. But I don’t know, I only surmise. I hope to never find out.”He stepped into the transporter.

Lena wanted to know. She burned to know. But Tang was right. Perhaps it was better she never got the opportunity to find out. “I consider you a friend,” she said. “I hope you feel the same.”

He smiled. “I do.”

“Then safe trip, my friend.” She hit the activation button, and watched him disappear.

She still didn’t like transporters.


Today’s prompt: Forming a bond.

6 thoughts on “Part 15 of The Hunter: Friends With The Hunter

  1. Wow ❤ I feel like I have finished reading a great book and you are left with all these feels, lol.
    Wow ❤
    Now it's time for book 2, lol 😀 Can't wait to read more of what you write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All these parts combined, in one word, AWESOMENESS!
    Great story phoenix! It was so engrossing and simple that I really wish there were more adventure of our lovely trio…
    I’m already a fan of your writing Phoenix and would love to read you next stories 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this one with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

