Q&A #9: From PhoenixGrey85

A topic that doesn’t get enough attention, in my opinion…

Fiction by Rachael Ritchey

I’ve had a number of questions posed which I’ve answered briefly with reply comments, but I’d like to take some of the questions and answer them in more detail. Maybe someone else has the same question, but didn’t know to look for the answer in the comments below!

Question of the day9

Today we’re going to tackle Phoenix Grey’s question:

. . . I really like the name Victara. Did you make the names up for your fiction? Or get them from somewhere? I’m curious.


I’ll just stop to mention my favorite site to visit when I’m struggling with names. I could spend hours here: Behind the Name. Of course, I also peruse all the other baby naming sites . . . and yes, my search history is odd. That’s only the half of it!

The characters’ names in my stories are a mixture of real names and made up ones. The following…

View original post 282 more words

8 thoughts on “Q&A #9: From PhoenixGrey85

  1. Naming characters and places can be a pain, but it can also be so much fun! For instance. I like the names Kerrigan and Belinda….what can we make with these two names? Kerrinda, Kellin, Kellinda, Rigan, Bergan, Riganda, Berrig, Binda, Blinda, Darrigan, Dagan, Kergan, etc. etc. 🙂 Do this reminds me of a game/exercise we often engaged in during middle school. You know the one, You take a word or phrase then make more words or phrases out of it, but you can only use each letter once. 🙂 It’s fun. Naming is fun, too!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Names are wonderful. I disagree with Rachael – naming characters is such an enjoyable process. I like to name them and then give them nicknames or shorten them. Then I like to draw pictures of them and write their names above….think I better stop now as this is sounding weird…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great question, Phoenix! I mentioned in my comment to Rachael that I haven’t seen a lot of blog articles on character naming, and Rachael’s explanation was interesting and fun to read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

