#timehop: this time last year

I got the idea for this post from blondewritemore, who kindly let me borrow her time machine to go back a year and take a peek at my life then. If you want to follow suit, I’m sure she’d let you have a go in it. You just have to ask nicely. πŸ™‚

There are many things that have changed since February 2014. Β These include:

1. I wasn’t blogging. This is the biggest change in the last 12 months. The idea had occurred to me, but I honestly had no real idea about what you put in a blog, or how you get people to read it, or anything else really. I’m glad I did take the plunge though – finally, in August last year. Wow, it doesn’t seem that long ago!

2. I hadn’t started writing short stories. I still looked at them with fear. Now I love them.

3. I hadn’t really engaged much in the writing community, and I definitely had never had any feedback on my writing. This first happened during the summer when I took an online creative writing course. the boost to my self-esteem was amazing, and what inspired me in the end to start a blog. I thought that it would be a good way to start getting my writing out there and get some opinions on it. It’s sort of worked.

4. On a more personal note, I hadn’t started to face up to one of my many demons. I was ill, and looking at what seemed like a brick wall of impossibility in front of me. Things have started to get better. Sort of.

5. I hadn’t ever done a MOOC before. I love them now. They seemed something to be feared, but the experience of learning and interacting with other learner online has been invaluable. I have learned a lot that has fuelled inspiration for my writing. Which was part of the point.

I think they’re all the major changed in my life in the last year. I’ve grown a lot in the past 12 months. Faced some demons. Grown in confidence. Developed ways to cope with hard things. Gotten better and more experience at writing.

All good things. πŸ™‚

PS: Thank you to all who have made this blogging experience a pleasant one.

17 thoughts on “#timehop: this time last year

  1. You’ve come a really long way Phoenix and CONGRATULATIONS on that! Your achievements are wonderful and you’ve learnt so much this past year πŸ™‚
    I wish you all the success in all your present and future endeavours!
    On a side note, what do you think about online creative courses? I’m planning to take one, can you guide me a bit? Please!
    Have a great day dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. πŸ™‚ I have learned a lof this last year, and hope to keep learning and growing.
      As for online creative courses, I’ve only taken one. It was a basic creative writing course. I enjoyed it, and learned some things. I gained confidence from sharing my work as well. What sort of course are you planning on?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll be taking them in April (as I have a lot going on in March.)
        Actually I came across a course of 1 year in an international University (Symbiosis in Pune) and I loved it’s e-learning course for Creative Writing. But it’s for one year. So before joining it I want to do a short course to get the feel of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, a short course is a good way to start. Like I said I found the one I took useful, even though I already knew some of the things being taught. I did pick up some good ideas though. I hope you enjoy your course. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

