Goodbye 2014 Hello 2015

The New Year always feels like a funny time for me. I don’t really celebrate it. I don’t go out drinking, or watch fireworks, or anything like that. Makes me feel old, but I’m usually in bed at midnight. πŸ™‚

One thing I do like about the 1st January is it feels like a chance to make a fresh start in life. There are things that I’ve been putting off and struggling with. New Year, New Start. That’s what I’m telling myself. There are no guarantees it’s going to work. All I can do is try.

On the writing side of my life, I’m not setting any resolutions, just giving myself a list of things that I would like to see done/completed in 2015. These are:

  • Finally finish the edits on my 2013 NaNo novel, Into the Unknown
  • Re-read and edit a story I’ve been working on since 2008. It’s been on the back-burner since I finished it for Camp NaNo in July, so I think it’s about time I dealt with it and made it into the great story I believe it can be.
  • Edit Storyteller, the first part in a series, and my April Camp NaNo project.
  • Finish the last story in a series I started many years ago. I don’t plan on doing anything with these stories, they’re just a part of my past that I would like to see completed. I want to get them printed using Createspace or something similar. Just to see them in my hands will be enough.
  • I have a series of flash fiction pieces that I’ve been writing throughout this year. I want to re-write them in a different perspective and publish them on this blog. They’re not fantasy, but something that’s come from within me that I feel the need to share. I also want to keep writing them, one a month in my minimum. I slipped up once this year due to illness and increased life-business, but otherwise my output has been pretty good. Which I’m pleased with.
  • Write a short story that’s connected to Into the Unknown. I don’t think the novel introduces the characters and world well enough, and I like the idea of having a series of short stories based in that world, so I’m going to make a start on that this year as well.
  • And lastly, but not leastly ( πŸ™‚ ), I want to write a piece of flash fiction at least once a month, more frequently if possible. I want to make sure I have something that I can write once a day, even if it’s just a few hundred words.

So, lots to aim for. Listing it like that is slightly daunting. I hope I’ll achieve it all, that life won’t get in the way, or the good ol’ procrastination. I’m starting the year with determination. I just need to hold onto the reasons why I’m doing this:

  1. I love writing and can’t live without it
  2. I want to improve my writing to the point where I’m as good as I can be (I know this isn’t something that can be achieved overnight, but every small step counts.)
  3. I want to be published. One way or the other. That’s my major goal. I want my writing out there for other to see and enjoy. I want to inspire people, help them through hard times, give them hope that things can get better.

Lofty ambitions, huh?

One last thing. I want to thank everyone who’s come by my blog since I started earlier in the year. I’ve had more fun than i thought I would creating it and writing on it. It’s opened up a world that I never thought I’d even hover on the edges of. So happy New Year. I hope 2015 brings you all you desire and more.

xx

12 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014 Hello 2015

  1. hello 2015 indeed, sounds like i’ve got great stuff to look forward too this new year. with the time difference you might already be in for the night so from one older codger to another, a big thanks back for all your help and time in the blogging world. it’s made the experience more of an adventure, and more than i could have imagined.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment, and for taking the time to read my blog, and the ramblings I post. πŸ™‚ I really am grateful for all the comments and likes that I’ve received since I started. It’s more than I really hoped for.

      Like

  2. I didn’t do anything for New Years either. (except be kept awake by fireworks.) I have plenty of writing I want to do this year too. (and editing!) You have so many more books that I do! Good job! Writing makes me happy so it’s amazing how much I procrastinate it. Good luck with your goals! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Writing makes me happy too. It gives me something that nothing else in this world does.

      Thanks for the luck. With everything else going on for me at the moment, I think I’ll need it!

      Good luck with your goals too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

