NaNoWriMo 2014 (Part One)

Well, in case anyone missed the big banner at the top of my blog, I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year. 🙂

I first took part last year, and, as I’ve explained in another post, it gave me a wonderful jolt back into the world of writing. I won last year. I can’t remember how many words I went over 50,000 but it was a few. I don’t think I quite reached 60,000.

Anyway. This year I’m struggling a bit. I have more things going on, and I’ve been ill at the beginning of the month, so that set me back a few days. I’m catching up steadily. I really, really want to win.

(Can you tell I’m a competitive person?)

I’m writing once more in the fantasy genre. Last year’s books was pirates and sorcery, this year’s is spirits/ghosts and a world based on the Mongolian steppes (think Genghis Kahn era).

I only managed to get part way through my research for this time period, so I’m working on what I’ve got and using common sense for the rest. After the first draft is complete I’ll finish up my research and fix what I got wrong. Hopefully little.

The main difference between last year and this is that I’ve outlined my novel this time. This is the first time I’ve done this in quite a while. My previous experience of outlining was that it sucked the fun right out of the first draft, but looking back I think that had more to do with my lack of connection to the stories I was writing (complicated topic, that one), and less to do with outlining.

This time around, I’ve found it’s really helped me to know what’s coming up next. Last year’s on-the-fly novel was riddled with plot-holes and meandered fairly steeply in certain places. This is a factor as to why I’m still editing it. It needs a lot of work.

I can’t deny the fun of writing and not knowing where you’re going though. It’s a bit like flying, soaring off into the unknown.

(Last year’s novel was called Into the Unknown. Spot the connection?)

As of today (so far) I’m roughly 13,000 words in. Which isn’t too bad, considering. I;m aiming for 2000 words a day. It’s achievable for me. Some days are easier than others.

I’m don’t think at the moment that what I’ve got plotted out is going to reach 50,000 words, so I’m devising a sorely-needed-anyway sub-plot, and a small, I don’t know whether you’d call it a short story, or a little curiosity to tag onto the end – the story told from an unexpected character’s point of view. It’s quite exciting actually.

Anyway, as I need to go and do other non-writing (read nuisance) life-related things, I’d better shut up now.

Happy writing all fellow Nannoers, and non-Nanoers as well. 🙂

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014 (Part One)

    1. I’m considering posting some snippets, or an excerpt here or there. It really depends how I feel about it when I’ve finished. Right now, sometimes I feel it’s good, sometimes bad. But that’s the life of a fiction writer, so I’m told. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m not doing Nano this year, because it doesn’t seem to work for me, but I am writing again! 🙂

    I didn’t outline and I really should’ve, it would’ve really helped me out a lot.

    I”m sorry real life gets in the way. Good job writing 13000 words! I wish you luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 13000 words is a lot when you look at it from an outside perspective. I just tend to look at all the words I have yet to write, instead of the ones I have written. But I shall get there!

      It’s good that you’re writing again, NaNo or not. Different things work for different people. I find that I need the added motivation. 🙂

      I wish you luck in your writings too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

