Not Enough Hours In The Day…

I’m still behind with Blogging 101. I’m really struggling to fit everything in at the moment. I’ve got so much to do, and as the title of the post says, not enough hours in the day to do them in.

I tend to find that my life is either full to bursting and I’m tearing my hair out trying to fit everything in, or I’ve not got much to do and I’m looking for something. I imagine this is a common thing, right? I’m not the only one, surely…

Hm. Anyway. I’m working on my novel for NaNoWriMo next month, and currently panicking that I’m not going to be ready. I’m trying out the Snowflake method for planning it. I plan on writing a post when I’ve finished evaluating how it went.

I didn’t plan my novel last year. I winged it, which was fun, but I found I ended up with a novel that had a lot of plot holes and direction-less rambling. Like I said, fun, but in the long tern? Problematic.

So this year I’m trying an alternative approach. I feel like I’m still in an experimental phase with my writing at the moment, working out what works for me and what doesn’t, in planning, writing and editing.

I’m looking forward to writing my novel in November because I haven’t written anything beyond flash fiction for a few months -I’m supposed to be editing last year’s NaNo novel, which is progressing, just slowly. I’ve also got, I think 3 other stories, of varying lengths waiting to be edited. A long queue of work awaits…

Now all I need are those extra hours.

Today’s post brought to you as a consequence of today’s Daily Prompt. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Not Enough Hours In The Day…

    1. This was my first response to a daily prompt, and it did feel a little strange. It was nice to just let myself go and write whatever came into my mind though. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. i’ve only done a few so far myself. they are fun but sometimes they can lead to strange places.

        hey is there a story behind the name phoenixgrey? reminds me of the x-men is why i ask.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. OK, second time for the X-Men connection. πŸ™‚ No, there’s no story. The name just kind of came to me. I do like the X-Men though, and Jean Grey/Phoenix has always been a favourite. So maybe there was a subconscious connection there.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m behind with Blogging101 too, but the previous few posts weren’t really interesting to me. Out to have a look again, see what’s been happening in the last couple of weeks. Good luck with nanowrimo πŸ™‚ I might take part too, pending on a confirmation, or not, of a translation. Will look forward to your blog post telling us how you got on πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never plotted a Nanonovel either, and they’ve all been horribly flawed by the end. This time I’m plotting the story out, so that I have some Idea where I’m going with it in November. I don’t have the patience to waste 50,000 words on something that doesn’t at least hang together a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

