Blogging 101: 3 in 1 (sort of)

Right, this is me catching up with Blogging 101. On Wednesday the task was to follow five new blogs and five new topics. I did this, and in the process learned that you could follow a topic/tag, and how. So that was a victory. ๐Ÿ™‚

The second part of the post is Thursday’s assignment, a post for my dream reader:

Why I Love Fantasy Fiction.

I don’t remember where my love of fantasy started. Probably in my childhood, reading books like Enid Blyton, books where toys come to life, and animals talk and have lives like people. Not to mention watching films like Alice in Wonderland.

I then migrated onto books like Sabriel by Garth Nix. I think that was the first true fantasy genre book I read, and I loved it. I still love it now, and its sequels (I’m excited for the new one coming out soon). I’ve devoured fantasy books by the barrel load ever since.

Even the games me and my siblings played as children always involved magic and fantasy elements. Me and my sister built a wonderful little world while playing with our Barbie dolls when we were children. My first foray into worldbuilding. ๐Ÿ™‚

This lead into writing down the stories as I grew up. By the time I was 18 I had several first drafts of a series complete. (They were awful, they will never see the light of day.) The series isn’t finished, and it still bugs me sometimes even now, but I’ve moved on past it. It was an expression of my teen years, and no matter how much I may want to, I can’t recapture that mindset.

Which leads me to today. I write and read fantasy, primarily. (I do read other genres, but fantasy is my favourite – sci-fi a close second.)

I love the fact that anything is possible in a fantasy world, be it based on earth or made up from scratch. I love dreaming up things that could never be possible in our world, giving my characters abilities and powers that are totally impossible to have, and yet making them human at the same time. Showing that you can have as much power as the world can offer, but you still have the same vulnerabilities, the same needs, fears, drives, passions, wants…

It’s an escape from what is a very hard world to live in at times. I need that escape, and I think a lot of other people do too. I’ve been inspired by things I’ve read, I’ve been saved by things I’ve read. And I want to do that for others. I want someone to read one of my books and feel part of something, feel not alone, if only for that moment. That’s my dream. To give back what I’ve been given.

And I enjoy it of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ahem, anyway. That’s it. My love for fantasy. (And reading and writing in general.) Its past and its future.

Writing is my passion, and this sums up how I feel about it perfectly:

And as for Friday’s challenge…that involves trying out different themes for my blog, which I think is going to take a while. So, I’m going to go now and do that. You will see the results one way or another. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: 3 in 1 (sort of)

  1. I like fantasy too, but seem to be rather particular about it. I love well-written high fantasy, where the world is carefully and intricately built and supports the story rather than just showing off. In recent years I’ve enjoyed Mindy Klasky’s Glasswrights’ Apprentice series, Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice series, and His Majesty’s Dragon, the first book in Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series. These series have similar long-ago settings, though the Temeraire series is set during the Napoleonic Wars rather than the Middle Ages.

    I can get behind some Urban Fantasy, too. I really enjoy the Dresden Files books by Jim Butcher, for instance, and The Time Traveller’s Wife (which I suppose is more low-fantasy) was mind-blowingly wonderful.

    I’m not widely experienced in the genre; can you recommend books you’ve particularly enjoyed, or that have inspired or informed your own writing?

    Like

    1. I can’t say that I’ve read any of the books you mentioned. Robin Hobb’s book are on my ever-growing to-read though, and I read a chapter sample of the first Temeraire book a few years ago when it first came out. I can’t say that I was blow away back then, but in recent times I’ve actually been thinking of giving it another go.

      I too like my books to be well-written. One or two of my recent reads weren’t really, and they were a struggle to get through. I also think it’s interesting and refreshing to read fantasy that’s set in other time period’s rather than the European Middle Ages. I try and write outside of that time myself.

      In the realms of urban fantasy (though it’s sometimes classified as horror) I am quite a fan of Kelley Armstrong’s Otherworld series. There’s something about her style of writing that grabs me. Lord of the Rings has been a big influence on me, I absolutely love it. It was the first high-fantasy book I read (a number of years ago now), and it just opened my eyes to a whole new world (pardon the pun).

      Another series I really enjoyed was Tales of the Otori by Lean Hearn (I think that’s how you spell her name). It’s set in a world based on historical Japan, and she paints wonderful pictures with her words.

      Thanks for taking the time to take a look at my blog. I’ll take a look at yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Well said. I look forward to seeing your name on a novel in the near future. That last paragraph resonates with me. Books were the escape I found from the pain, conflict, and hardship in my family while growing up. It saved me too I believe, for had it not been for the library service I discovered in primary school, and the Aesop Fables and pretty pictures that hooked my childish imagination and fantasies, the engaging characters and storytelling in the Babsy Twins. Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew mystery series, The Little House on the Prairie series and later Mills on Boons, I wouldn’t have got hooked on books; books which taught me better English, story writing skills and immaculate diction than I got from my high school classroom, because in any case,my mom couldn’t afford text books. i never had any and frequent absence made me fail many classes. Fantasy books gave me words; words increased my intellect and confidence when I spoke, and cultivated a boundless creativity that still serves me today. Because of books, I was able to pass O’ Level English and this gave me a foot in the door of college. A college education gave me a career and empowered me to have a different life than the one I would have inherited otherwise, had I not early dug into the imaginary worlds between their pages. Books and the church saved me. Keep writing, Phoenix.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

